[SOLVED] Laptop wil not connect via ethernet - eth0 issue

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mintytoothpaste

[SOLVED] Laptop wil not connect via ethernet - eth0 issue

Post by mintytoothpaste »

Before I explain my issue, I'd like to say that this is my first time using any operating system other than Windows for an extended period of time, and I apologize if I missed something seemingly obvious.

I have a Toshiba Portege r705-p25, and I recently installed the 64-bit version of Linux Mint 15 Olivia on it. It will connect to the internet over wifi, but not through ethernet. The ethernet port has worked in the past while the laptop was running Windows, so I can rule out the network adapter itself being faulty.

I have tried googling for a solution. I found out using the terminal command inxi -n that my laptop has an "Intel 82577lc" network adapter, so I downloaded the driver from this address and tried installing it.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail ... pe=Drivers

This didn't seem to help, but I'm also not sure if I installed it correctly. I tried following the instructions in the readme, and the files appear to be where they should be. The same terminal command as before says that the driver version matches the one that I downloaded and installed.

In addition, I used the terminal command sudo ifconfig eth0 up. The terminal accepted it after I entered my password, but inxi -n showed that eth0 was down both before and after entering the command. I've reached the limit of my knowlege of Linux, and I would like to know if anyone here can help.

Here is the output of inxi -Fxn just in case that can help. I think the most relevant part will be the networking section though.

Code: Select all

"name of my computer" ~ $ inxi -Fxn