Linksys Router Question

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
BakUp
Level 3
Level 3

Linksys Router Question

Post by BakUp »

I will try to explain this the best as I can because I am no expert when it comes to wireless and ethernet, routers and modems.

This router is actually a wireless router (WRT54G v4.0) but I am using it only as a ethernet hub. It always had worked just fine, no problems, but a storm came through the other night and knocked out my cable connection. When the cable people restored the connection, I no longer am able to use the Linksys hub. I connected one computer up directly to the cable modem, it worked fine. So I assumed my router got fried.

That was not the case though..... I took this router to my winter home and connected it there, which uses a DSL connection, and my Linksys router works perfect.

The router is ok, so why would it work at one location and not the other ???
I have spent a week of trying to figure this thing out, but I give up. Does anyone have any ideas what might be going on with this router ?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
My Linux Distros:
sidux - Parsix - DreamLinux - Mint
chattr

Re: Linksys Router Question

Post by chattr »

BakUp wrote:I will try to explain this the best as I can because I am no expert when it comes to wireless and ethernet, routers and modems.