Windows networking - what it should have been

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Fornhamfred
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Windows networking - what it should have been

Post by Fornhamfred »

Hi Oceanwatcher

Very interesting post- with some very valid points.

Without going into the detail it may be of interest to you that pyNeighborhood is available in synaptic.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
solar1951
Level 4
Level 4

Post by solar1951 »

Hi Oceanwatcher,
I am new at all this samba stuff myself and I could be wrong but I beleive the smbfs package is needed so that you can mount windows and other Linux shared folders on your machine acting as a server. If the other machines are turned on and running when you boot up your server then those machines will find your server and they will appear when you click on "Network" from the Mint menu. However if your server is running and then a machine on your network is booted up it will not show up. For this you will need something like pyNeighborhood - or smb4k if you use KDE - to actually scan the network, find the machines in your workgroup and then you can mount them. You will need to create a folder, preferably in your /home folder in which to mount these shares - I use a folder called Network :wink:

I have used pyNeighborhood from the repos and it is easy to use and I agree with you that it should be included in the next release as part of the default.

There have been many posts about samba and AvanceIT seems a knowledgeable board poster.
subslug
Level 3
Level 3

Post by subslug »