Ethernet not working If booted frm HDD but works in live USB

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Ethernet not working If booted frm HDD but works in live USB

Postby visit.sundar on Sun May 04, 2014 9:56 am

Hello,
Ethernet (wired) connection is working fine with live USB session (Linux Mint 15). But when i try to boot from HDD, Ethernet is just simply not working.
Please help me out here.
visit.sundar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:22 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Ethernet not working If booted frm HDD but works in live

Postby austin.texas on Sun May 04, 2014 2:30 pm

Please boot live usb, open a terminal and enter this command:
sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py

Then boot from the hard drive, and repeat the process. It would help to compare the two.
Please post the results.
Mint 17 Cinnamon (64 bit), Quad core AMD A8-3870 with Radeon HD Graphics 6550D, 8GB DDR3, Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
Microsoft-free environment since 1996

To help Linux Mint with a donation, please visit http://www.linuxmint.com/donors.php
User avatar
austin.texas
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2629
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:57 pm
Location: at /home

Re: Ethernet not working If booted frm HDD but works in live

Postby visit.sundar on Sun May 04, 2014 10:05 pm

I see info regarding eth0 is completely missing when run from Hard disk.
Please see the results below.
Run from Live USB
mint@mint ~ $ sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 14e4:4311 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
eth0 no wireless extensions.

lo no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:c5:ba:84:ff
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::215:c5ff:feba:84ff/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2820 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1601 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:4052249 (4.0 MB) TX bytes:127532 (127.5 KB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1395 (1.3 KB) TX bytes:1395 (1.3 KB)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
Rather than invoking init scripts through /etc/init.d, use the service(8)
utility, e.g. service smbd reload

Since the script you are attempting to invoke has been converted to an
Upstart job, you may also use the reload(8) utility, e.g. reload smbd
RTNETLINK answers: File exists
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
Server: 192.168.1.1
Address: 192.168.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.34
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.46
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.41
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.36
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.39
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.32
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.40
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.35
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.38
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.33
Name: google.com
Address: 74.125.236.37

Run from Hard disk
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
sundar@sundar-MM061 ~ $ sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py
[sudo] password for sundar:
-------------------------
* I. scanning WIFI PCI devices...
-- Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN (rev 01)
==> PCI ID = 14e4:4311 (rev 01)
-------------------------
* II. querying ndiswrapper...
-------------------------
* III. querying iwconfig...
lo no wireless extensions.

-------------------------
* IV. querying ifconfig...
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

-------------------------
* V. querying DHCP...
-------------------------
* VI. querying nslookup google.com...
;; connection timed out; no servers could be reached
visit.sundar
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 9:22 am

Re: Ethernet not working If booted frm HDD but works in live

Postby buteman on Sun May 18, 2014 12:56 pm

Have you got networking disabled on the hard disc installation? Click on the icon in the panel and click on network setting to check it.
buteman
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: Bute, Scotland

Re: Ethernet not working If booted frm HDD but works in live

Postby JeremyB on Mon May 19, 2014 7:43 pm

Can you post lsmod results from Live USB and HDD?
JeremyB
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am


Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests