NAS drive odd behavior and Gigabit question

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

NAS drive odd behavior and Gigabit question

Postby WildSioux on Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:22 pm

Hello,

I have finally come to a Linux OS that does everything I need. I have been jumping around for about 4 months now waiting for Linuxmint KDE 4 CE to come out. This past weekend I downloaded and installed the mint6 KDE CE RC1 and am loving it.

After setting up everything I need including my fstab mount entry for my NAS drive. I have a fully functioning computer with linux. No other OS came close to doing this. However, I have noticed some odd behavior with my NAS box. It is a Dlink DNS323 attached to my router, which then is connected to a gigabit switch which is then connected to my desktop with a Netgear/Realtek gigabit card that I added to it.

1.) First, I have it set to automount at start. This works fine. I have the NAS box to sleep after 30 minutes of inactivity. I have noticed periodically the drive wakes up without any activity. And I believe it is how it is mounted but I don't want to mess it up since this is the first OS that I have made it work with an actual mount entry in FSTAB instead of using SMB4K. None of the other OS's I tried did this.

Any idea???? Here is my FSTAB entry
Code: Select all
//IP_Address/User\040&\040Our\040Files /home/user/mnt/DEVICE/USER\040&\040Our\040Files cifs rw,nounix,nobrl,_netdev 0 0

~ I did a lot of testing and wasting time before finally coming to this entry to make it work. The "nounix" entry is the only one that I found which would allow it to save a document in OpenOffice to the box.

~ I would prefer not having it wake up periodically if I am not using anything to warrant it coming out of sleep. Do I need to remove the "0 0" at the end to make it not automount and just mount manually?