DSL Modem Help.

Questions about cabled networking
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

DSL Modem Help.

Postby CrazyCanuck90 on Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:29 am

YAY, it worked, thanks :D .

How do I connect to the internet, I went into the networking settings and I tried setting up a modem. I'm not sure on what to put in for the phone number, and the part that asks for pulse or tone? I guess I should just call my isp. Will it matter if Im going through a router though?

It's a broadband internet connection btw, the modem is just hooked up to a phone line.
Last edited by CrazyCanuck90 on Sun Jun 24, 2007 10:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
CrazyCanuck90
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:56 am

first this should be a new thread because of the new questions, more people will see it then. it will get split by a moderator anyway.

Are you using a dial up modem?

if you are you will want to get the gnome-ppp deb package and put it on your system. this will make using a dialup modem simple.

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby Boo on Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:13 am

dont use the modem in the network settings as this is for old style dial up modems.

You are using a dsl modem which is like a router, you can think of you connection as a big LAN (no dialing needed).

set your wired connection in network to use dhcp. this is all that should be needed.

:D

edit: oops just saw you working edit.
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am


Return to Ethernet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests