Wish I Could Be More Positive

Chat about just about anything else

Wish I Could Be More Positive

Postby bilyo on Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:03 pm

Let me start by saying that I am a computer user. They are a tool for getting other things done. They are not my vocation, avocation, or hobby. I have learned enough to do necessary maintenance and operations. I am not an expert nor do I desire to be one. I do have high regard for those who are.
I do like Linux distros in general. I recently tried the Mint/Mate live CD and liked the look and feel of it. So, to give it more trial, I installed it and started configuring it for daily use. After installation and updating, the first thing I did was try to establish a wireless network connection. Frankly, I have better things to do than spend hours searching for answers while trying to figure this out, especially, when there are other distros that make it a simple 1,2,3 process where no special knowledge is required other than network name, security method, and password. During my search for answers, I came across many other comments regarding this issue. One (might have been in this forum) even recommended development of a "wizard" to help with the process.
Regretfully, I will not be giving Mint any further consideration. I'm sure it is otherwise a fine OS.
With constructive intent,
Thanks
bilyo
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Wish I Could Be More Positive

Postby monkeyboy on Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:32 pm

bilyo wrote:Let me start by saying that I am a computer user. They are a tool for getting other things done. They are not my vocation, avocation, or hobby. I have learned enough to do necessary maintenance and operations. I am not an expert nor do I desire to be one. I do have high regard for those who are.