Page 1 of 1

SSHFS won't work between mount points

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:44 pm
by Fishbowler
I'm trying to remotely manage a filesystem from Mint 14 to Mint 12. There's a folder where everything gets dumped - logs from work, recent downloads, etc, etc, etc, and I periodically go through it and put everything in the right place. There are four data partitions that get mounted on boot. The "dumping ground" exists on one of them, but "the right place" might be on any one of them. I've recently discovered SSHFS, which seems like an ideal solution - I can use two panes in Nemo and move files around the remote file system.

The big problem: Moving files between the mount points on the remote filesystem gives "Operation not permitted" - any ideas?

Smaller problem: Copying files between the mount points (the workaround) copies them over the network via the other machine - is there a way for this operation to happen "remotely"?

Thanks up front for any time spent considering this, even if you end as stumped as me.

Re: SSHFS won't work between mount points

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:13 pm
by DrHu
http://www.howtoforge.com/mounting-remo ... untu-11.10

Code: Select all

sshfs -o idmap=user root@192.168.0.101: /backup 
--possibly you may want to use that idmap parameter to avoid persmission issues..

Re: SSHFS won't work between mount points

Posted: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:21 pm
by Fishbowler
Thanks for the response DrHu. I used this as a reference: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SSHFS

The partitions are DATA0, DATA1, DATA2, DATA3
The dumping ground is a folder in the root of /media/DATA3
I've tried moving to folders in the root of DATA1 and DATA2 - both give the error.

The exact command I ran was:

Code: Select all

sshfs -o idmap=user dan@192.168.3.99://media/ ./remote

Re: SSHFS won't work between mount points

Posted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:34 pm
by Fishbowler
I found this: http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/f ... mitted.22.

So tried mounting like this:

Code: Select all

sshfs -o idmap=user,workaround=rename dan@192.168.3.99://media/ ./remote
No change. I assume I've got the formatting of the options right (i.e. comma separated) but haven't found anything specific...