VPN client

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
astro_sarah

VPN client

Post by astro_sarah »

I'm new to Linux mint, but have previously used Windows 7 and ubuntu.
For work i need to set up a VPN client. I used Cisco in the past which had a nice gui that you could use (as opposed to getting the connection set up from the command line).
I went into the software manager and installed vpnc. But I can't find it in my list of applications. Also not sure if I have to install some drivers or something to VPN to work (like I had to for wireless).
I'd like to know what I can do to get a VPN client working on my Linux Mint Petra 64bit.
Cheers,
Sarah
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
rxd

Re: VPN client

Post by rxd »

The lack of VPN client support in Linux is lame...
Eternally

Post by Eternally »

Its because of the problem that in the market there are very few companies that support VPN on linux because its always the same excuse that to few people use linux, I personally use PureVPN for linux it has the best support from what I have seen from VPN providers. I have never tried VPN with wireless on Linux but it should work pretty good with the network manager.

Petra does have VPN PPTP installed by default, if you want more bigger options then there is always OpenVPN.

Command: sudo apt-get install network-manager-openvpn
rxd

Post by rxd »

OpenVPN support is a joke. If that's Linux's answer no wonder it is stuck at less than 2% market share.

What VPN routers support OpenVPN. Oh yea, nobody.