[SOLVED]Connecting QNAS Wirelessly to Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon

Questions about Wi-Fi and other network devices, file sharing, firewalls, connection sharing etc
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
gael33
Level 4
Level 4

[SOLVED]Connecting QNAS Wirelessly to Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon

Post by gael33 »

Okay, I'm a computer user (I'm a writer) not a fixer, therefore I need some help from those of you who are technically minded. I bought a QNAS-TS-212-E and want to connect it to my computer. I can get into it using the Web Browser but I want to access the device without using the internet because it's painfully slow. The QNAP is connected to the Sky wireless hub using a ethernet cable ... my partner connects easily from her PC because she needs Windows 7 Pro for her work ... I on the other hand have no idea how Samba works, although I have watched a few YouTube videos and read a couple of self help manuals on the subject, but it's still a mystery. I could in all fairness use an ethernet cable to connect the QNAP to my computer as it's only about 6 feet away but I have heard from a guy who knew a 'little' about this, and he said it's not as simple as plugging a cable in and presto! He did ask me to type this line ... He said, "I simply added the following line to my .profile in my $HOME directory on my Kali boxes."

CODE: SELECT ALL
/usr/bin/gvfs-mount smb://$LOGNAME@nasty2/home

Unfortunately, I don't know how to do that. Could someone give me step by step instructions on how to add that line into the relevant file on my computer. I would be eternally grateful.

gael
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
Linux Mint 21.3 Cinnamon
Saor Alba Gu Brath
altair4
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Connecting QNAS Wirelessly to Linux Mint 16 Cinnamon

Post by altair4 »