Remote VNC

Connection sharing, Firewall, Samba..etc
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Remote VNC

Postby rdonnelly on Thu Feb 24, 2011 7:55 am

How would one go about making a VNC connection between 2 Mint Debian computers? I have never done this before, so if any one knows of a good step by step procedure, please let me know.

Thanks
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Remote VNC

Postby Angtagapagligt on Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:34 pm

Hello rdonelly,

at first you should configure the VNC-Server software which is installed by default. Just go to menu and hack "remote" in. The right application should appear.
Now you have to allow the connection and make the other settings (which have to be set individually).

Now you go to your software manager and hack "VNC" in (of course on the computer you would like to view). You have to look for a VNC-viewer software. There are various different applications.
I use the Gtk VNC Viewer. Open the software and type the IP or hostname of your server in. Give your username and passoword (which you have configured in the server settings before) and click "add" or connect (different from application to application). Than make a double click on your added connection or just wait.

Now you should be connected to your vnc server host.

So long

Angtagapagligt 8)
"Really, I'm not out to destroy Microsoft. That will just be a completely unintentional side effect."
    - Linus Torvalds Interview with David Diamond, September the 28th 2003
User avatar
Angtagapagligt
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:14 am

Re: Remote VNC

Postby rdonnelly on Sat Feb 26, 2011 1:53 pm

I tried a couple of VNC viewers, tightvncserver displayed what looked like a screen saver with no motion. xvnc4viewer worked but I closed an email window on the remote desktop and it would not update in the VNC window. Is VNC real time, or is it just a way to control a remote PC? Is there a way to view a remote desktop in an interactive way?
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: Remote VNC

Postby Angtagapagligt on Mon Feb 28, 2011 7:40 am

It should be interactive.

Make sure you marked the "~user can control my pc"-option on the server.

Edit:

If you have the knowledge you can try this, too.
"Really, I'm not out to destroy Microsoft. That will just be a completely unintentional side effect."
    - Linus Torvalds Interview with David Diamond, September the 28th 2003
User avatar
Angtagapagligt
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:14 am

Re: Remote VNC

Postby rdonnelly on Mon Feb 28, 2011 1:42 pm

Angtagapagligt wrote:It should be interactive.

Make sure you marked the "~user can control my pc"-option on the server.

Edit:

If you have the knowledge you can try this, too.


Yes, I did that.
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: Remote VNC

Postby Angtagapagligt on Mon Feb 28, 2011 2:28 pm

Over which media do you connect?
Is your bandwidth enough?

How long did you wait?
"Really, I'm not out to destroy Microsoft. That will just be a completely unintentional side effect."
    - Linus Torvalds Interview with David Diamond, September the 28th 2003
User avatar
Angtagapagligt
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 3:14 am


Return to Other networking topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jon99 and 7 guests