Mint4win hangs at Formatting Swap Space Aftr reboot

Questions about Grub, UEFI,the liveCD and the installer
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint4win hangs at Formatting Swap Space Aftr reboot

Postby netmanic on Thu Aug 20, 2009 6:26 pm

I am new to Mint, installing Mint7Main via Mint4win on my Lenovo S10 on a spare Fat32 10G partition via Windows XP..

After the install, I reboot, choose Mint boot, and after it comes up I get the following panel which sits there for hours:

Check the installation…
Installing System
Formatting swap space in partition #1 of /host/mint/disks/s...

Any help appreciated. :wink:
netmanic
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Mint4win hangs at Formatting Swap Space Aftr reboot

Postby lagagnon on Thu Aug 20, 2009 7:42 pm

Mint4Win is the same as Ubuntu's Wubi. Read section 6.4 of this:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#Installation
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7

Postby netmanic on Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:00 pm

The only issue with this diagnosis is this is a brand new partition, which has never been used for anything before.
1. I created a FAT32 10Gig Partition (F:)
2. Ran mint4win

Installation error while formatting the swap file
If the installation fails while formatting the swap virtual disk it means that your drive is excessively fragmented. Uninstall, run jkdefrag on the target drive, then run wubi again.

lagagnon wrote:Mint4Win is the same as Ubuntu's Wubi. Read section 6.4 of this:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#Installation
netmanic
Level 1
Level 1

Postby lagagnon on Thu Aug 20, 2009 8:21 pm

Was that partition hived off a larger partition of your Windows drive at any time, because if so the disk space would have been used and still has fragmented data on it. I would still try the solution if I were you.
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7

Postby netmanic on Thu Aug 20, 2009 11:32 pm

Ok,
Completely uninstalled, rebooted, dkdefrag (nice!), rebooted.