[SOLVED] Can't open certain websites

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

[SOLVED] Can't open certain websites

Postby akshaypande1989 on Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:36 pm

I am running Mint KDE Gloria alongside Win XP. My problem is that the web browsers (Firefox 3.x, Konqueror) in Linux do not open certain websites:

1) those related to Google accounts, such as orkut, Reader, gmail
2) Yahoo mail
3) wiki.ubuntu.com (strangely)

Other sites open fine, so I am really confused with this. Also the above sites open perfectly fine in IE 8.0 in my Win XP

Looking forward to a solution

Thanks!
Warmly
Akshay
Last edited by akshaypande1989 on Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
akshaypande1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby DrHu on Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:40 pm

akshaypande1989 wrote:I am running Mint KDE Gloria alongside Win XP. My problem is that the web browsers (Firefox 3.x, Konqueror) in Linux do not open certain websites:
..
Looking forward to a solution

...Linux do not open certain websites:
Which web sites ?

If you want a logical response, you would have to provide the specific sites that don't work for you
--I have no problems with Firefox 3x or Opera 10 on the Gnome desktop, Linux mint 7 main edition

It would help to have context:hardware, software
In terminal, check
    inxi -F
    --short list of OS detected hardware on your machine
    firefox --version
    Mozilla Firefox 3.0.14, Copyright (c) 1998 - 2009 mozilla.org
As well as the specific browser version used, Firefox 3.0.14 as an example

Although I would never use it (wubi), it might be important to know if Linux was installed into its on partition , as part of a multiboot setup
-or that mint4wn (Ubuntu's wubi application) was used to run Mint on the windows host system
Last edited by DrHu on Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby akshaypande1989 on Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:49 pm

Dear DrHu

Here's the list (posting the long URL I get in the address bar after typing say mail.google.com, http://www.orkut.com etc)

1) Gmail - https://www.google.com/accounts/Service ... mplcache=2

2) Orkut - https://www.google.com/accounts/Service ... mail=false

3) Google Reader - https://www.google.com/accounts/Service ... Freader%2F

4) https://wiki.ubuntu.com/

5) Yahoo Mail - https://login.yahoo.com/config/login_verify2?&.src=ym

Here's the response I got on typing

inxi -F

in the terminal:

bash: inxi: command not found

Specific firefox version = 3.0.11
akshaypande1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby DrHu on Fri Oct 30, 2009 1:51 pm

akshaypande1989 wrote:Specific firefox version = 3.0.11

Is that the latest for the mint KDE edition
Have you updated, upgraded what is available from the repository
I would do that first, (apt updates)
In terminal
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade
--any errors or does that work ?

Tried all those links..
I can connect to them all via Opera 10 and Firefox 3.0.14
    on Mint7 main edition
--in both I have javascript turned off, that is my standard practice (web safety)
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby akshaypande1989 on Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:06 pm

Dear DrHu,

I update to 3.0.14 and restarted Firefox. But the problem still persists.

Even unchecking "Enable JavaScript" in Preferences doesn't help. Is this a bug in KDE? Because its weird that even Konquerer doesn't open the exact specific sites

Here's the exact error message, if that helps

Failed to Connect


Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at login.yahoo.com.


Though the site seems valid, the browser was unable to establish a connection.

* Could the site be temporarily unavailable? Try again later.
* Are you unable to browse other sites? Check the computer's network connection.
* Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
akshaypande1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby DrHu on Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:13 pm

    Is your computer or network protected by a firewall or proxy? Incorrect settings can interfere with Web browsing.
Might be a dns error on your network setup

In terminal (konsole), check
    ifconfig
    --status of detected network card
    iwlist scanning
    --if you are using a wireless connection
    netstat -rn
    routes are there and gateway /router (GW is UP ), UG
    ping 127.0.0.1
    ctrl C to stop, or ping -c 5 127.0.0.1
    --tcp/ip is running correctly, localhost is available
    ping your router IP address
    --usually 192.168.0.1, yours may differ
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    --do you have your routers IP address listed in that file

And which application is being used as the network manager, Gnome network manager or a kde application ?
Last edited by DrHu on Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:20 pm, edited 4 times in total.
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7006
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby akshaypande1989 on Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:18 pm

Dear DrHu

My internet connection has a proxy, but the proxy settings and fine because the other websites open normally (I am typing in this forum through the same Firefox). The ping thing also gave a positive reply

PING 127.0.0.1 (127.0.0.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.082 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.054 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.053 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.059 ms
64 bytes from 127.0.0.1: icmp_seq=5 ttl=64 time=0.056 ms
^C
--- 127.0.0.1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 5 received, 0% packet loss, time 3999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.053/0.060/0.082/0.014 ms
akshaypande1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby dlkreations on Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:44 pm

You said that the proxy settings were correct, but did you check those within the actual browser settings as well?

Also, has this been from the beginning, or did this just start recently?
Image
It's perfectly OK to express an opinion, but refrain from foul and stupid language
- Husse
User avatar
dlkreations
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 790
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 8:40 pm
Location: Orange County, California

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby akshaypande1989 on Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:07 pm

Yes, before using both browsers, I configured the proxy settings in the browser's preferences. This problem has been since the beginning (ie since 3 days, when I first installed my Linux OS)
akshaypande1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby dequire on Fri Oct 30, 2009 3:21 pm

Something's amiss somewhere. I have not been able to reproduce the condition the OP states after using Gloria KDE for some time now. And I use Google Reader and Gmail daily. Also just loaded https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ instantly. Something went wrong with the install somewhere.
They'll all look at me and say,
Hey look at him! I'll never live that way.
But that's okay -
They're just afraid to change.
- Shannon Hoon

The Blue Mint
dequire
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:28 pm
Location: Ohio

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby lexon on Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:16 pm

No issues with those sites here. No issues with any of these sites though I am using Mint 7 Gnome with all updates. Will not be home for three days or I would slip a play hard drive into my desktop and install the same OS he is using.

lex
Lindows, Linspire, Freespire, Ubuntu, Mint 15 Cinnamon, Mint 16 XFCE, Mint 17 Cinnamon 64 bit.
lexon
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: MA USA

Re: Can't open certain websites

Postby akshaypande1989 on Sat Oct 31, 2009 1:30 am

Problem Solved!!

There was a problem in my proxy config - how embarrassing! I just found that my HTTP proxy settings were fine but the ones for the other protocols had empty text fields..........everything's working now!!! :-)

Thanks to everyone who helped
akshaypande1989
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to KDE

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests