[duplicate] Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[duplicate] Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

Postby johonunu on Wed Jun 17, 2009 5:51 am

When I type in filter field two words or more the menu recognize only first word. It does it to all : search portal and repos, show package and install package !
I fixed this using this Python code :

Code: Select all
#!/usr/bin/env python

import sys
import os
import commands

search_txt = ""

#make search text with all arguments passed
for i in range(1,len(sys.argv)):
   search_txt += sys.argv[i]
   if(i!=len(sys.argv)-1):
      search_txt += "_"  #this is for merging words with a "_", you can change this depending on query string (Google would have "+" for example)

releaseID = commands.getoutput("cat /etc/linuxmint/version/mintinstall/release.id")
if os.path.exists("/usr/bin/gconftool-2"):
   browser = commands.getoutput("gconftool-2 --get /desktop/gnome/url-handlers/http/command")
else:
   browser = "firefox %s"
link = "http://www.linuxmint.com/software/?sec=search&search=" + search_txt + "&release=" + str.strip(releaseID)
browser = browser.replace("\"%s\"", link)
browser = browser.replace("%s", link)
os.system("/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintInstall/launch_browser.sh \"" + browser + "\" &")

Hope this helps :)
Image
My Minty Laptop Configuration
Lenovo G550
4GB DDR3
Nvidia G105M
300 GB HDD
http://www.trifunovic.me/
User avatar
johonunu
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 7:51 pm
Location: Belgrade,Serbia

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

Postby emorrp1 on Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:18 am

Please check the forum for existing topics that match your description before posting. This is especially important for the "Bugs" forum, where the problem and solutions need to be easily visible to the developers. I have already reported this, and posted a similar solution to yours: viewtopic.php?f=165&t=27622

Thanks for the confirmation though, and please keep reporting bugs if you find them (but try the support sections first, in case it's a hardware issue or something)
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

Postby johonunu on Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:25 am

I am sorry, I didn't check first, my fault :( It won't happen again !
Should I rename this topic or something ? Or it's even better to remove it !
Image
My Minty Laptop Configuration
Lenovo G550
4GB DDR3
Nvidia G105M
300 GB HDD
http://www.trifunovic.me/
User avatar
johonunu
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 7:51 pm
Location: Belgrade,Serbia

Re: Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

Postby emorrp1 on Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:46 am

don't worry about it for now, I've linked to this one as a confirmation of mine, so it'll be ok to just leave it here.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

Postby scs on Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:53 am

Hi emorrp1,
you have linked your topic to itself, I think.
scs
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 8:31 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: Mint menu doesn't search more then one word

Postby emorrp1 on Wed Jun 17, 2009 12:21 pm

So I did :oops: fixed.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Delta44, killer de bug and 27 guests