LMKDE9 - mintupdate - Unable to change icons

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

LMKDE9 - mintupdate - Unable to change icons

Postby enigma on Tue Aug 03, 2010 5:50 pm

Bug Report - LMKDE9 - mintupdate - Unable to change icons

I find the new icons in mintupdate in the system tray too small to distinguish. I easily see the shield but not the inner graphics. The older icons were much better for my disabled eyes.

Using the mintupdate form tab 'Icons' I began changing them. With some help, I located the old icons in /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintupdate/icons. The new icons individually showed under the 'Icons' title. I clicked 'Apply' but nothing happened. I assume that the form closes with a successful apply but the form stayed visible.

I closed the form but the system tray mintupdate was now iconless. Just a space with no icon.

I modified the permissions but still the icons do not stick. I 'Quit' and reloaded but the results were the same. I completely removed the app and reinstalled but the results are the same.

Maybe this text I found is applicable, "I actually do see more errors and crashes due to improperly informed users and tweaking that was never really meant to be implemented into the OS."

Thanks.

Hope this helps.
enigma
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: ON, CA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: LMKDE9 - mintupdate - Unable to change icons

Postby enigma on Tue Aug 03, 2010 7:37 pm

Follow-UP

I have located the source of the bug. The mintupdate.conf file in /etc directory contains the path + filename of the icons. In my particular case the path+filename equals the first location of my own icons.

Let me explain:

I did not want to use the current system tray icons so after some work I decided to create my own. I used my user directory and Kiconedit to manufacture some 'works of art' (cough, cough). After I finished each icon I opened mintupdate to load the icon and look at it in the wild. After making a new set, I moved them to my graphics directory for permanent storage. I reopened mintupdate and entered the new location of the icons. This is the beginning when the problems occurred.

This should help isolate the bug. I do not think that too many people will reproduce my steps so it is not a priority.

Hope this helps.

Thanks.
enigma
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:26 pm
Location: ON, CA


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, terlica, UgoRipley, WharfRat and 41 guests