Problem with Gnome Menu search

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby adefigo on Fri Feb 25, 2011 5:27 am

rdonnelly wrote:I found you can also do Menu Preferences>Applications then deselect>Search for packages to install.

Doesn't work for me, this setting seems to be ignored.
adefigo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:38 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby rdonnelly on Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:30 am

adefigo wrote:
rdonnelly wrote:I found you can also do Menu Preferences>Applications then deselect>Search for packages to install.

Doesn't work for me, this setting seems to be ignored.


It is working for me on 3 machines, go figure?
The OS: Linux Mint Debian 64 KDE Plasma 4.10.5
The Hardware: Dell 17R Special Edition, Intel Quad Core, i7 - 3.40 GHz, 8 GB Ram, HD 1TB
Video NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 2GB
The Name: Bob
User avatar
rdonnelly
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 409
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 9:38 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby viking777 on Sun Feb 27, 2011 7:38 am

Ikey,

FWIW I tried the 'solution' as given earlier in this thread. I can assure you that it does not work for me. Although it allows you to complete the typing of lib into libre office, and even gives you enough time to search for it, it does NOT prevent the runaway mintmenu process and accompanying overheating, all it does is slow it down at bit. I still had to kill the mintmenu process in order to prevent the overheat. So whatever your answer is, this is not it.

I think mintmenu really needs some serious looking at. 90% of the time on LMDE I am using the fluxbox window manager which does not use mintmenu and therefore I have not really noticed this before, but over the last half day I have been using Gnome desktop on LMDE and I note from conky that mintmenu - even when unused - is always in the top 4 processes for consuming resources and usually it is top of that list. The amounts it consumes are only small, maybe 0.5% cpu and 1.5% memory, so not enough to cause any problems, but in my innocence, I would have expected an unused menu button to consume zero resources (or near enough) until somebody clicks on it, this is certainly not the case.

On mint 10 mintmenu is never visible in conky 'top' processes unless you are using it.
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby msbln on Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:26 am

adefigo wrote:
rdonnelly wrote:I found you can also do Menu Preferences>Applications then deselect>Search for packages to install.

Doesn't work for me, this setting seems to be ignored.


As I mentioned earlier, this setting unfortunately does not have any effect on my system either.
So I can only repeat what adefigo says: it seems to be ignored.
LMDE MATE
msbln
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby msbln on Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:44 am

adefigo wrote:Quick and dirty fix:
in /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py
line 797 - 803 comment out the lines starting with thr

Code: Select all
                        if self.current_suggestion is not None and self.current_suggestion in text:
                            # We're restricting our search...
                            self.add_search_suggestions(text)
                            #if (len(self.current_results) > 0):
                                #self.add_apt_filter_results_sync(self.current_results, text)
                            #else:
                            #thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
                            #thr.start() 
                        else:
                            self.current_results = [] 
                            self.add_search_suggestions(text)
                            #thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
                            #thr.start()


and re-login.

The menu is finally usable. :-)


It works for me too.
I didn't want to wait for the fix anymore.

Thank you, adefigo.
LMDE MATE
msbln
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby yet_another_username on Thu Mar 17, 2011 2:19 pm

So, what's the status for this fix? I'm very thankful to adefigo for his fix, which worked for me. However, I'm hesitant to recommend Mint to other users because of this bug. I myself just moved to Mint from OpenSuSE, and other than this particular bug, I've been far happier with Mint. However, I don't want to recommend this to other people if their computer is going to freeze. And, for those who migrate from Windows and decide to give Linux a chance, something like this could give them a bad impression of Linux as a whole.
yet_another_username
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby Herbivore on Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:44 am

yet_another_username wrote:So, what's the status for this fix? I'm very thankful to adefigo for his fix, which worked for me. However, I'm hesitant to recommend Mint to other users because of this bug. I myself just moved to Mint from OpenSuSE, and other than this particular bug, I've been far happier with Mint. However, I don't want to recommend this to other people if their computer is going to freeze. And, for those who migrate from Windows and decide to give Linux a chance, something like this could give them a bad impression of Linux as a whole.


Ditto!
Herbivore
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:59 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby wayne128 on Sat Apr 30, 2011 9:47 am

I tried few times

It did not work for me. Still hang with CPU100%
wayne128
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3322
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby msbln on Sat May 14, 2011 12:25 pm

wayne128 wrote:I tried few times

It did not work for me. Still hang with CPU100%


Why not?

1. Terminal: sudo gedit /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py
2. comment out line 799,800, 804,805 so that it looks like:

#thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
#thr.start()
else:
self.current_results = []
self.add_search_suggestions(text)
#thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
#thr.start()

3. Save & Restart
LMDE MATE
msbln
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby Darksun on Tue May 24, 2011 2:27 pm

Is there any word on an official fix? The code workaround works for me, but I quite like being able to search packages from the mintMenu (when it doesn't freeze) so it's a shame to lose this feature.

Also, it is possible to recover from this crash without resetting X/the computer by dropping into a terminal and killing the mintMenu process.

If you don't know how to do that: press ctrl-alt-F1 to switch to terminal 1. Log in, and type

Code: Select all
killall mintmenu


Press ctrl-alt-F7 to switch back to your desktop. A dialogue will pop up asking if you want to reload mintMenu, click to reload and all should be well (till next time you try typing in a common word into the menu)
Darksun
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby AlbertP on Sun May 29, 2011 5:58 am

Since Mint 11, I am also having this problem. The computer locks up for some 10 seconds when I type 'trac' into the Mint Menu: there is no program with 'trac' in the name installed at me.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby wyrdoak on Sun May 29, 2011 3:21 pm

adefigo wrote:Quick and dirty fix:
in /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py
line 797 - 803 comment out the lines starting with thr

Code: Select all
                        if self.current_suggestion is not None and self.current_suggestion in text:
                            # We're restricting our search...
                            self.add_search_suggestions(text)
                            #if (len(self.current_results) > 0):
                                #self.add_apt_filter_results_sync(self.current_results, text)
                            #else:
                            #thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
                            #thr.start() 
                        else:
                            self.current_results = [] 
                            self.add_search_suggestions(text)
                            #thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
                            #thr.start()


and re-login.

The menu is finally usable. :-)

Sorry but what is the edit command for this file. I can look at it but can't edit it with the text editer
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby wyrdoak on Sun May 29, 2011 3:28 pm

belay my last! It helps to read the whole post.
-Dell Mini Netbook-Atom CPU-N270-1.60ghz; 16gbs mini ePCI PATA SSD
RAM- 1gbs-(Maya-Xfce) LInux 3.2.0.57-generic(i686)
SolydX (32bit)
User avatar
wyrdoak
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1313
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: USA

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby AlbertP on Sun May 29, 2011 3:30 pm

Right-click it: Open as Root/Administrator (don't know exact English name as my Mint is Dutch).

Or in terminal:
Code: Select all
gksu gedit /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6517
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby adefigo on Thu Jun 09, 2011 9:28 pm

Glad and proud I could help you all! :D
adefigo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 11:38 am

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby limotux on Wed Aug 24, 2011 11:36 am

adefigo wrote:Quick and dirty fix:
in /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py
line 797 - 803 comment out the lines starting with thr

Code: Select all
                        if self.current_suggestion is not None and self.current_suggestion in text:
                            # We're restricting our search...
                            self.add_search_suggestions(text)
                            #if (len(self.current_results) > 0):
                                #self.add_apt_filter_results_sync(self.current_results, text)
                            #else:
                            #thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
                            #thr.start() 
                        else:
                            self.current_results = [] 
                            self.add_search_suggestions(text)
                            #thr = threading.Thread(name="mint-menu-apt-filter", group=None, target=self.add_apt_filter_results, args=([text]), kwargs={})
                            #thr.start()


That's great! :D
This was the only thing that works, but with no package search :cry:
By the way, not necessary to find "thr" at the same lines mentioned, mine was 1 or 2 lines different, but I noticed that from the editor you can search for thr without quotes, all what is found I commented out.

Maybe any other or complementary solution to keep package search?

P.S. disabeling search for packages only didn't work for me.

and re-login.

The menu is finally usable. :-)
Fujitsu Life Book T 4310, 8 GB ram, LMDE, ( Linux lmde 3.0.0-1-686-pae )
In Love With Linux
User avatar
limotux
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:55 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby skybluenova on Wed Sep 07, 2011 3:50 am

I was running into the same problems. This happened "alln of a sudden", as I could type in whatever I wanted in the search box before, but today it just started behaving as also the others here have experienced it. So I modified the applications.py as adefigo suggested, et voilá :D the search does not hang anymore (I did not use package search anyways) .. great fix. I'm still wondering why I had no problems before and from today on things did not work -

Best
Dennis
skybluenova
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2011 9:37 am

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby msbln on Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:29 am

Darksun wrote:Is there any word on an official fix? The code workaround works for me, but I quite like being able to search packages from the mintMenu (when it doesn't freeze) so it's a shame to lose this feature.

Also, it is possible to recover from this crash without resetting X/the computer by dropping into a terminal and killing the mintMenu process.

If you don't know how to do that: press ctrl-alt-F1 to switch to terminal 1. Log in, and type

Code: Select all
killall mintmenu


Press ctrl-alt-F7 to switch back to your desktop. A dialogue will pop up asking if you want to reload mintMenu, click to reload and all should be well (till next time you try typing in a common word into the menu)


I like this idea most. It's simple and always handy to know.
Adefigos solution is subtle and works, at least until the next mint menu update.
As I don't want to repeat this workaround after every update,
I'll stick with Darksun's idea when the next hang occurs.
LMDE MATE
msbln
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: Problem with Gnome Menu search

Postby ksfooo on Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:26 am

Linux Mint 11 Katya
Hi,
I have similar problem:
After I enter in the search Menu in Gnome "ca;c", whole system freezes. This happened, when I was looking for calculator and I missed the keyboard key "l".
I wanted to share this with you. Thanks

ksfooo
User avatar
ksfooo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:01 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Previous

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: karlchen, Mark Phelps, XxtriviumxX, Zavonen and 38 guests