Spotchat not working

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Spotchat not working

Postby ckosloff on Sat Jun 18, 2011 10:40 am

Spotchat not working, freenode is.
Please contact Spotchat, unable to reach help via IRC.
ckosloff
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:54 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby ThistleWeb on Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:22 am

It occasionally has blips when it doesn't work. I'd suggest waiting a while and trying again.
Crivens!
User avatar
ThistleWeb
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:59 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby ckosloff on Sat Jun 18, 2011 3:21 pm

Hi, Scotland, #linuxmint-help is on freenode now, end for spotchat?
ckosloff
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:54 pm

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby rich_roast on Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:34 pm

Possibly want to check your server list / channel list -- there are a number of sparsely populated #linuxmint channels on freenode of which a Polish language channel had 16 users online when I looked, and there is a #linuxmint channel but it should be pointed out that in its topic it points back to #linuxmint-help on spotchat as the official channel. Over the past two days (and more) I've been able to connect to spotchat without interruption.
User avatar
rich_roast
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1136
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby AlbertP on Tue Jun 21, 2011 11:18 am

Last week Spotchat has been down for a while, but it was back on after a few minutes.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Spotchat not working [SOLVED]

Postby ckosloff on Wed Jun 22, 2011 10:28 am

It works now, with a few bumps and glitches.
Anyway, this is not really a support topic so I will mark it [SOLVED].
Just wanted to call the attention of the higher-ups, so a move to some other server might be considered in the future.
ckosloff
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:54 pm

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby BlouBlou on Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:39 pm

I'd suggest you moving to freenode, it doesn't fail too much and has a great support for open and free projects.
BlouBlou
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:34 am
Location: Spain

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby defcon on Sun Jun 26, 2011 1:45 am

+1
User avatar
defcon
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:17 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby AlbertP on Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:27 am

At me Freenode always needs 15 seconds to connect while Spotchat is there immediately after opening Xchat. As long as we don't experience more problems, I'd suggest to keep using Spotchat.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby ckosloff on Sun Jun 26, 2011 9:19 pm

I use both.
True that Mint customization for X chat makes it open at Spotchat by default, but that can be changed.
I never experienced a problem in freenode, it takes longer to identify registrants, but that is a good thing, too many useless trolls in #linuxmint-help.
ckosloff
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:54 pm

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby crlsgms on Mon Mar 05, 2012 7:03 pm

I have the same issue here. using my cabled connection at home i cannot connect from any pc I have mint installed (3 till now), always have the same error:

* A procurar irc.spotchat.org
* A ligar a irc.spotchat.org (217.172.177.133) porto 6667...
* Ligado. A iniciar sessão...
* *** Looking up your hostname...
* *** Could not resolve your hostname: Domain name not found; using your IP address (217.172.177.133) instead.
* RROR :Closing link: (guerrilha@217.172.177.133) [Registration timeout]
* Desligou (Cliente remoto desligou).


and keeps trying. freenode and a bunch of other servers works like a charm
crlsgms
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Spotchat not working

Postby AlbertP on Tue Mar 06, 2012 7:27 am

Spotchat is currently online again.
Registered Linux User #528502
Image
Feel free to correct me if I'm trying to write in Spanish, French or German.
AlbertP
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6520
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:38 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 25 guests