[invalid] Instalation Bug

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[invalid] Instalation Bug

Postby Egorama on Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:35 pm

If you install mint from USB, with a Mint CD also present, after the interactive part of the installation process, the install reverts/defaults to CD if available regardless of the original install media.
Dont Believe half of what you see and none of what you here -- Lou Reed
Egorama
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby Fred on Tue Aug 04, 2009 8:07 pm

Egorama,

Hummm... Doesn't sound like much of a bug to me. Just umount the CD and remove it from the drive before you try to install from USB. Problem solved. :-)

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby emorrp1 on Wed Aug 05, 2009 4:54 am

Yep, this will depend on your BIOS settings, and what they reset to on a reboot. If you want to be able to boot from the usb after install (why?) just raise the boot order of usb. You could also follow Fred's advice to boot into the installed version.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby Egorama on Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:38 pm

Fred wrote:Egorama,

Hummm... Doesn't sound like much of a bug to me. Just umount the CD and remove it from the drive before you try to install from USB. Problem solved. :-)


You would do that if you anticipated that behaviour, but you wouldn't, why would the installer switch media part way through? that is exactly why it's a bug. Whether there is a workaround isn't relevant.

emorrp1 wrote:Yep, this will depend on your BIOS settings, and what they reset to on a reboot. If you want to be able to boot from the usb after install (why?) just raise the boot order of usb. You could also follow Fred's advice to boot into the installed version.


Maybe I could have been clearer in my initial post but the switch between installation media is made directly after the interactive section, during the file copy section of the install, this happens before the reboot, therefore switching boot priorities won't help.
Dont Believe half of what you see and none of what you here -- Lou Reed
Egorama
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby Egorama on Wed Aug 05, 2009 8:49 pm

emorrp1 wrote:Yep, this will depend on your BIOS settings, and what they reset to on a reboot. If you want to be able to boot from the usb after install (why?) just raise the boot order of usb. You could also follow Fred's advice to boot into the installed version.


Oh wait! did you mean the installer uses BIOS boot priority to determine install media? that would work, but it would be tripped up by pressing the POST Fn key for a one time boot drive select, which I possibly did.
Dont Believe half of what you see and none of what you here -- Lou Reed
Egorama
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby emorrp1 on Thu Aug 06, 2009 3:34 am

Hang on, so you mean it installed fine? If so then what's the problem, sure it's odd, but if it works...
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby Egorama on Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:27 pm

emorrp1 wrote:Hang on, so you mean it installed fine? If so then what's the problem, sure it's odd, but if it works...


It didn't work, I had to restart the installation and be sure to remove the CD first.

I appreciate the workaround is easy enough, it's not really a problem for me now I'm aware of it but this doesn't really change the fact that this isn't how it should work, I appreciate if you say it's not a high priority because very few will encounter this but saying it doesn't matter because it works one way or another is disappointing to me. It's like coding without error trapping and saying I won't bother because the user should do it that way anyway.
Dont Believe half of what you see and none of what you here -- Lou Reed
Egorama
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby emorrp1 on Thu Aug 06, 2009 3:21 pm

Ok, now you've described what happened a bit more, I can see this is a potential bug, although I can't see why you'd even get to this situation if your comp can boot from cd since the USB method is still not fully supported. Now I just need enough information to promote this to a full bug report. The main thing I need is a precise method to reproduce the bug. i.e. which tutorial did you follow to create the USB boot media, was it persistent, what linux version was on the CD that was inserted, what are the symptoms, does it happen every time, does it happen when you use the direct install method rather than live cd method etc. etc. As much info and precise steps as possible please.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby Egorama on Thu Aug 06, 2009 4:50 pm

I didn't realise the boot from USB install is not still not fully supported, I guess that makes this more of an incomplete feature but here are the details anyway.

I initially booted the Gloria installation from CD but found the disc to be corrupt. As my last few disc's were cheap in nature I decided to use USB as my install medium.

I created the USB Install using the Windows version of UNetbootin with a md5 verified Gloria ISO no tutorial was necessary as the tool is very intuitive.

Rebooted the PC, F8(bring up 1 time boot device select during POST) Select USB. At the boot menu I chose start installer only. I then completed the interactive section of the install and continued to the file copy sequence, at this point my CD drive spun up for the first time(with my faulty media inserted) and proceeded to copy files from here instead of USB. At about 30% I got the same file copy error as my previous attempt to install from CD as you might predict. At this point I restarted the PC removed the CD and the install from USB worked perfectly.

This is reproducible using the above outlined method, my guess is that the installer currently looks for the installation media in a predetermined order(or takes the boot order from the BIOS which you may have hinted earlier) instead of checking a pre-populated variable that contains the actual install boot media .
Dont Believe half of what you see and none of what you here -- Lou Reed
Egorama
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby DrHu on Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:11 pm

Egorama wrote:Rebooted the PC, F8(bring up 1 time boot device select during POST) Select USB. At the boot menu I chose start installer only. I then completed the interactive section of the install and continued to the file copy sequence, at this point my CD drive spun up for the first time(with my faulty media inserted) and proceeded to copy files from here instead of USB. At about 30% I got the same file copy error as my previous attempt to install from CD as you might predict. At this point I restarted the PC removed the CD and the install from USB worked perfectly.

At this point I restarted the PC removed the CD and the install from USB worked perfectly
Exactly why would you have 2 boot devices loaded into the system
--and the boot order in the bios is what, USB/CD or CD/USB
    the CD device has the boot files
    the USB device has the boot files
The installer scans the system for mounted media (CD, DVD, USB, Hard drives), it found the first one available CD, and tried to use that

I don't think it is a bug at all, or even a potential one..
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6836
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: Instalation Bug

Postby Egorama on Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:39 pm

DrHu wrote:
Egorama wrote:Rebooted the PC, F8(bring up 1 time boot device select during POST) Select USB. At the boot menu I chose start installer only. I then completed the interactive section of the install and continued to the file copy sequence, at this point my CD drive spun up for the first time(with my faulty media inserted) and proceeded to copy files from here instead of USB. At about 30% I got the same file copy error as my previous attempt to install from CD as you might predict. At this point I restarted the PC removed the CD and the install from USB worked perfectly.

At this point I restarted the PC removed the CD and the install from USB worked perfectly
Exactly why would you have 2 boot devices loaded into the system
--and the boot order in the bios is what, USB/CD or CD/USB
    the CD device has the boot files
    the USB device has the boot files
The installer scans the system for mounted media (CD, DVD, USB, Hard drives), it found the first one available CD, and tried to use that

I don't think it is a bug at all, or even a potential one..


I don't think it should be possible to rack up 900+ posts in three weeks but then it's not difficult to be rude is it?
Dont Believe half of what you see and none of what you here -- Lou Reed
Egorama
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:28 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: all41, Bing [Bot], bube, cyttorak, spacexion and 47 guests