[invalid] Google Earth is broken

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[invalid] Google Earth is broken

Postby ckosloff on Sat Jan 30, 2010 12:08 pm

Attempted to install Google Earth from repos.
The main screen was flickering and had to uninstall it.
ckosloff
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:54 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Google Earth is broken

Postby remoulder on Sat Jan 30, 2010 4:08 pm

ckosloff wrote:The main screen was flickering


This is not a bug but a problem with the graphics capabilities of your machine. Ticking the Safe Grahics Mode option and reducing the colour setting goes some way to alleviating this flickering. Also mint does not maintain google earth, you would need to report the problem to google.
[Edit] your original post and add [SOLVED] once your question is resolved.

“The people are my God” stressing the factor determining man’s destiny lies within man not in anything outside man, and thereby defining man as the dominator and remoulder of the world.
User avatar
remoulder
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7667
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 1:14 pm

Re: Google Earth is broken

Postby Chainy on Tue Feb 02, 2010 8:18 am

Or do as I have done and turn Compiz off via the Appearance settings - click on the tab 'visual settings' and then tick 'none'. Forget about the unnecessary desktop effects! Everything works nice and smoothly without Compiz. Apparently there's a problem with OpenGL applications such as Google Earth working with Compiz. Just type in 'Compiz Google Earth ubuntu' into Google search and you will find some info on this. Also worth turning off the 'atmosphere' feature (via the 'View' menu) in Google Earth and this will help it work nicely. I didn't bother fiddling with any other settings in Google Earth.
User avatar
Chainy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 12:32 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AGN093, Hecubus, mbauerle, Reorx, The DJ and 26 guests