[closed] NetworkManager Applet bug

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[closed] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby hipporhinostricow on Mon Feb 22, 2010 6:52 pm

Just a small thing, nothing major;
While the desktop is loading, if the applet detects a wireless connection, it shows a message ate top right of the desktop, which states, "to connect to a wireless network, click this bubble". However, as with the volume and brightness control bubbles, it fades when you mouse over the bubble. Of course, one can always easily connect from the icon in the tray, but it could be misleading for beginners.
Dell Optiplex GX280, Pentium 4 64-bit 3.2GHz, 3.5GB RAM, 2x160GB HDD

In a world without walls or fences, theres no need for windows or gates
hipporhinostricow
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 2:02 pm
Location: London

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby Husse on Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:07 am

I've never seen that bubble.....
Without thinking I started my laptop but it is set to connect automatically to my wifi ....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: [undecided] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby viking777 on Tue Feb 23, 2010 8:14 am

Damn, I have spent ages trying to click that bubble :lol: :lol:

hipporhinostricow is quite right though it is slightly annoying, particularly if you have a dual head set up, on my system the NM applet is on one computer and the 'bubble' appears on another one (the desktop is spread across both so in reality that is the same behaviour as hipporhinostricow reports).
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: [undecided] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby Husse on Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:22 am

Is it worth hunting down?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: [undecided] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby viking777 on Tue Feb 23, 2010 1:38 pm

Husse wrote:Is it worth hunting down?


Not my call. All I would say is this, there are far more profitable ways you could occupy your time, but if you are feeling bored?
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: [closed] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby Kendall on Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:51 pm

It would be particularly nice if the bubble said to click the tray icon instead. Is this an Ubuntu package?
User avatar
Kendall
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1580
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 12:20 pm
Location: Asheville, NC, USA

Re: [closed] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby Husse on Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:34 pm

Is this an Ubuntu package?

Nope - gnome
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: [closed] NetworkManager Applet bug

Postby emorrp1 on Sat Mar 20, 2010 4:28 am

Actually by the looks of it, it's Ubuntu's notify-osd incorrectly absorbing response notifications, as well as the ordinary no-response notifications.
If you have a question that has been answered and solved, then please edit your original post and put a [SOLVED] at the end of your subject header
Hint - use a google search including the search term site:forums.linuxmint.com
emorrp1
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2322
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:58 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: alban, Jim Hauser, Mute Ant, skadish and 40 guests