Blender will not open when clicked

Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Blender will not open when clicked

Postby matthewc954 on Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:14 pm

I am new to linux and love it so far. I appreciate the community and the support it seems to get and it makes microsoft seem so dull. Anyway, I have a problem that I need answered.

I have just recently installed Linux Mint LXDE on an older computer (32 bit) with an ATI Radeon 9600 graphics card and ran into a problem. When I click on Blender nothing happens. I talked to a friend who told me to pull up lspci and this is what I have. Can anybody tell me what is wrong?

matt@linux ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8378 [KM400/A] Chipset Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237/VX700 PCI Bridge
00:0a.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems V.92 56K WinModem (rev 03)
00:0b.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6306/7/8 [Fire II(M)] IEEE 1394 OHCI Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.0 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
00:11.6 Communication controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 80)
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 78)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]
01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600] (Secondary)


If I missed something I will gladly post what info is needed. Just tell me how to get it and I will post it as I am very inexperienced with this operating system and have much to learn. Thank you for the support!
matthewc954
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:53 pm
Location: Florida, US

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Blender will not open when clicked

Postby mank_in on Sun Apr 15, 2012 1:45 am

Check your video driver with ( copy and paste command in terminal ) :

Code: Select all
inxi -Gx


try reinstall blender:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install --reinstall blender
sudo apt-get install -f


If not work, try install the latest blender, tutorial is in : http://www.unixmen.com/201202-blender-2 ... linuxmint/
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Blender will not open when clicked

Postby matthewc954 on Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:26 pm

I have tried everything that you suggested and when I click on blender it still doesn't open. It just doesn't respond at all.

Here is the info for the video driver

matt@linux ~ $ inxi -Gx
Graphics: Card: ATI RV350 AP [Radeon 9600] bus-ID: 01:00.0
X.Org 1.10.4 drivers ati,radeon unloaded: fbdev,vesa Resolution 1440x900@59.9hz
GLX Renderer Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV350 GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.11 Direct Rendering Yes



This is what it says in Terminal when i type
Code: Select all
blender


matt@linux ~ $ blender
ndof: unknown Logitech product c51b
Illegal instruction
matthewc954
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:53 pm
Location: Florida, US

Re: Blender will not open when clicked

Postby mank_in on Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:37 pm

I read from this site , you need to install :
ibavformat53; libavdevice53; libswscale2
maybe you can check in synaptic package manager if the packages installed
Image
Sorry for my bad English , I am Indonesian.
User avatar
mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1346
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Blender will not open when clicked

Postby matthewc954 on Tue Apr 17, 2012 4:24 pm

I did have to install libavformat53 but unfortunately it still does not turn on. I read the webpage that you attached and got the same error that the other person got telling me that libavformat52, libavdevice52, and libswscale0 were not found. I even looked for those just to try it but they were not there.
matthewc954
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 5:53 pm
Location: Florida, US


Return to Others

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest