Linuxn00b needs your help

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Postby Huesos on Fri Feb 09, 2007 9:59 am

After having used windows my entire life I've now decided to try something new and I am looking forward to the upcoming release of Bianca (which looks great by the way). I want to try having both Windows xp and Linux Mint installed at the same time though, that way I can get used to the new while still being able to go back to the old (for photoshopping and whatnot). Can you describe the process of installing Linux Mint into a computer that allready has Xp on it? Bare in mind though, I am not a programer nor have I ever had more than 1 OS at once, so feel free to treat me like a retarded person while explaining it to me. :P

Also, what filesharing program's do you use in Linux?

Thank you very much in advance.
/ Huesos
Huesos
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby soulexposed on Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:13 am

What you want to do is called Dual-Booting, and it's described on this site: http://www.hezardastan.org/breezy_xp_dualboot/en/. It's instructions for how to dual boot with Windows XP and Ubuntu, but it works the same for Linux Mint because Mint was built from Ubuntu. (Skip past the part descibing how to install Windows XP...) IMO it's easier to install Windows on one HDD and Linux on another, but you can partition a single drive and install both if you wish...

As for file sharing (between drives), Mint already takes care of that for you. :) There's a utility that comes with Mint called mintDisk which will automatically detect other drives for you. For P2P programs, all the standard ones work with linux (Azureus, etc).