Help with Nvidia VGA cards

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Help with Nvidia VGA cards

Postby ambertone on Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:39 pm

Hi all,

I am having all sorts of problems with getting an nVidia VGA card to work on either Bianca or Bea. I've tried 6800's, 5500's, GeForce MX440 and even an old GF2 and TNT.

I've tried all the variants of drivers available through Add / Remove software.
I looked on the nVidia site but the instructions given did not work. (or the operator has no idea what he is doing :-)

Some help in real simple terms would be appreciated.

Rod
PS installed Ubuntu "Fiesty" and they all work fine but I prefer to use Mint for reason of DVD playback.
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Help with Nvidia VGA cards

Postby marcus0263 on Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:58 pm

ambertone wrote:Hi all,

I am having all sorts of problems with getting an nVidia VGA card to work on either Bianca or Bea. I've tried 6800's, 5500's, GeForce MX440 and even an old GF2 and TNT.

I've tried all the variants of drivers available through Add / Remove software.
I looked on the nVidia site but the instructions given did not work. (or the operator has no idea what he is doing :-)

Some help in real simple terms would be appreciated.

Rod
PS installed Ubuntu "Fiesty" and they all work fine but I prefer to use Mint for reason of DVD playback.
What specifically is you nvidia card?

Run
Code: Select all
lspci

post the output

If you've got an older nvidia card you'll need to install the legacy drivers.

envy usually works brilliantly
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Postby marcus0263 on Sat Feb 10, 2007 12:06 am

AAAAh forgot I was dealing with an Ubuntu base and forgot the sudo, correction

sudo lspci


should get an output similar to this

Code: Select all
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV40 [GeForce 6800 Ultra] (rev a1)
02:01.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82547EI Gigabit Ethernet Controller
03:02.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy (rev 03)
03:02.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Audigy Game Port (rev 03)
03:02.2 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Creative Labs SB Audigy FireWire Port
03:03.0 PCI bridge: Hint Corp HB6 Universal PCI-PCI bridge (non-transparent mode) (rev 11)
03:04.0 SCSI storage controller: Adaptec AIC-7892A U160/m (rev 02)
04:08.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. IEEE 1394 Host Controller (rev 46)
04:09.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
04:09.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 41)
04:09.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 02)
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:59 am

Hi there, how do I copy and paste the display of the terminal? Control "C" does not work.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 2:00 am

OK, got it.

You possess a mind not merely twisted, but actually sprained.
rob@rob-desktop:~$ sudo lspci
Password:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P PCI to AGP Controller (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV34 [GeForce FX 5500] (rev a1)
02:05.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Help with Nvidia VGA cards

Postby nick on Sat Feb 10, 2007 6:52 am

Hi
Link here for GeForce FX 5500
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=33142
For the 6800, have you tried CTRL/ALT/F1
then type sudo envy? This will install the Nvidia drivers,
If you still have no joy type
sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
Back up your xorg.conf file first! its in etc /X11
It could be a chipset problem rather than a driver
problem.
Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:29 am

Thanks Nick,

I'll have a play with it in the morning and see how I go. Just as a matter of interest I have a PIII-1400 on a Gigabyte GA-6IEML mobo with all the same issues.

I also tried on a Compac P4 with an Intel 845 based mobo and same rubbish. I'm beginning to thing nVidia and Linux do not mix as nothing seems to work from a lowly TNT through to a 6800.

Is ATI a better option or is this an Ubuntu / Mint problem?

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 8:34 am

Hi Nick, just read the link in your post.

The one thing I can't understand is that the most basic thing a computer needs is a working display, something I would imagine (if I was responsible for a distro) that would just work without putting the user through hoops.

Getting VGA cards to work on Linux would be the number one issue that ruins it.

I hate to say it but in this case Microsoft Windows is so easy, "setup.exe" and your VGA card works.

Why can't Linux distros get this basic thing to work?

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Help with Nvidia VGA cards

Postby nick on Sat Feb 10, 2007 9:08 am

Hi
Not to sure what the problem is? have three computers running with Nvidia cards on Linux and no problems.(and not for many years)
Did you try the Envy command? If you follow instructions it should automatically download and install driver.
Typing sudo envy is as easy as setup.exe :)
But do not forget the Ctrl/ALT/F1 which will take you to a "blank screen"
Another method to try is to install Automatix,
follow instrutions here:
http://getautomatix.com/wiki/index.php? ... .28Edgy.29
then once it is installed, run and tick "install Nvidia Drivers"
You are trying this on an installed system and not a live disc? :)
What is you monitor?
Nvidia drivers generally work in Linux and have done for along while I tend to find Ati more problematical
Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby scorp123 on Sat Feb 10, 2007 1:43 pm

ambertone wrote:Control "C" does not work.
Control+C is "break". You use that command to abort a running program :wink:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 4:46 pm

Hi Nick, sorry to show frustration. I'll give your instructions a go today and report back.

Appreciate your help very much.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:01 pm

OK, yes Mint is fully installed and the monitor is a 19" IBM G97.

Ctl, Alt F1 does nothing.

I typed "sudo envy" into a terminal box and it gave the option to install nvidia drivers, selected that option and the screen just went black with a flashing cursor.

Any ideas?

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 5:34 pm

Hi all,

for some reason "envy" does not work on my system.

I used the following method and rebooted the machine and the driver is working:

sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx nvidia-kernel-common
sudo nvidia-xconfig

Thanks for your help as it put me on the right path.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby marcus0263 on Sat Feb 10, 2007 7:28 pm

ambertone wrote:Hi all,

for some reason "envy" does not work on my system.

I used the following method and rebooted the machine and the driver is working:

sudo apt-get install nvidia-glx nvidia-kernel-common
sudo nvidia-xconfig

Thanks for your help as it put me on the right path.

Rod
ctrl + shft + alt + f2
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Postby ambertone on Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:25 pm

Sorry, ctl + sht + alt + F2 does nothing.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby marcus0263 on Sat Feb 10, 2007 10:33 pm

ambertone wrote:Sorry, ctl + sht + alt + F2 does nothing.

Rod


MMM I do know Gnome has issues sometimes trying to switch term's when in X.

go and open gnome-terminal and

Code: Select all
sudo init 3


This will kill X and bring you into multi user mode without X and you'll still have networking. So once there run

Code: Select all
envy




This will download, compile install and write to xorg.conf, then reboot your system

Better yet, when you're at run level 3 (after doing init 3) do

Code: Select all
sudo su


You'll then be in root, then

Code: Select all
envy
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brken11 and 4 guests