finding ram configuration on laptop and specs etc.

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

finding ram configuration on laptop and specs etc.

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 12:29 pm

sorry dumbo question where can I found out my ram configuration i.e. 2-256 stcks of ram vs. 1 512 stick of ram? I need more ram but not sure and do not believe what I was told about this machine. can find it easily on macs but on a PC and also in linux I am too too new.

thank you.

also I cannot get any sound at all and I chose all sound options audio possibilites and nothing - I had sound in ubuntu but no control here I have no sound - I did get resoltion and 1280x800 instantly in mint and ubuntu notta and all others are frustrated too. I am still working on the wirless though half way there.

thank you.

acer travelmate 2480 laptop by the way4 days old
zen
 

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby clem on Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:15 pm

In Terminal:

Code: Select all
more /proc/meminfo


Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5548
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:39 pm

Great thank you! anyway your knowledge could help me finish up the wireless issue ? see wireless thread. I tried everything with the help of hairy palms or knuckles or whatever ...he worked hard all morning with me but is out of ideas.

I also have no sound!

thank you - Norman
zen
 

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 1:40 pm

clem 0 this does not appear to list what I am looking for or else it is pretty archaic info for me to understand.

thank you.
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:18 pm

How much ram does "free" report?

free will provide a little mor ehuman readable info but it is mainly total ram and swap.

I don't believe I've ever seen anything in Linux that can tell you how many chips you have but I could be wrong.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:44 pm

MemTotal: 506340 kB
MemFree: 5936 kB
Buffers: 20040 kB
Cached: 247608 kB
SwapCached: 0 kB
Active: 264528 kB
Inactive: 129468 kB
HighTotal: 0 kB
HighFree: 0 kB
LowTotal: 506340 kB
LowFree: 5936 kB
SwapTotal: 1477940 kB
--More--(0%)

does this help??

thanks
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Feb 13, 2007 4:48 pm

Looking at that I would guess that you have 512M with 8M probably set aside for onboard video.

What exact model of laptop do you have?
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:06 pm

acer travelmate 2480
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:26 pm

According to this:

http://www.acer-ee.com/acereuro/page9.d ... c=69835412

it has a 2Gig max capability with 2 slots for ddr2 sodimms and is dual channel ready. What this means is that you will get a bit better performance with 2 identical memory chips as compared to 1.

eg - 2x256MB will perform slightly better than 1x512MB.

What submodel is it? that will provide the info on that specific model as it came from Acer.

Usually they are like 2480-XXXX
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:34 pm

i can open the machine and look I thought I couls see it in some system profile so I wouldn't. I need to get another 512 stick if that is what I have. I just do not believe in what the specs say after the many shady dealings I went through to get this one. this was not the model I wanted either.

Oh well....

I'll have to take the bottme apart and look.

thanks.

:-)))
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:51 pm

It is most likely 1 stick of 512MB ddr2 533 sodimm so just get another stick of that.

The 2480-2705 is configured this way. The 512MB comes as 1 stick as this is cheaper than 2 sticks for dual channel mode.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 7:34 pm

Thanks Fragadelic? I plan on another 512 - I may open this up tomorrow and see what I have in there.

where in Canada are you? I used to hang in Ontario various places and also Toronto.

Best wishes,

Norman
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Tue Feb 13, 2007 8:51 pm

I was born and raised in Toronto.

I live in Mississauga now.

Where are you now/from?

You need to fill out your profile - come on don't be shy - lol.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby zen on Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:24 pm

from western NY and stuck in TN sucks a big one! I miss spadina and Bloor and Honjin's sushi restaurant, eh!??? and the snow!!!!
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Wed Feb 14, 2007 9:50 am

lol - we're getting plenty of snow today.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby zen on Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:19 pm

yes I know!!!


droooooling
zen
 

Postby Fragadelic on Wed Feb 14, 2007 12:27 pm

I'm going to start a new business - Exporting snow to the southern states.

It will be delivered atop 18 wheelers travelling from Canada.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Postby quickstart on Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:24 pm

I'm currently looking to buy a laptop. Here's a site I found that might prove useful for anyone wanting to install Linux on one.. :)

http://www.linux-on-laptops.com/

Alan.
Celeron 2.8 Ghz 512 MB RAM 2* 80 gb HDD dual-boot Linux Mint / Xubuntu 6.10

AMD Duron 800Mhz 256 MB RAM 20 gb HDD Xubuntu 6.10
User avatar
quickstart
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2006 2:22 pm
Location: Hampshire UK

Postby Fragadelic on Wed Feb 14, 2007 5:34 pm

A bunch of that info is very old. Most laptops work pretty well out of the box on Linux these days unless they are bleeding edge new.
User avatar
Fragadelic
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 11:05 am
Location: Canada

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest