Updates

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Updates

Postby antiquexray on Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:24 pm

Couple questions with respect to updates. After reloading Bianca, I got this message for 106 updates. I chose not to update the language packs, so now every time I sign in I get the message I have 65 to update. My questions are:

#1 Is there really a reason to update these languages when all I'm going to use is English?

#2 Is there away to tell the Update Manager not to bother me with these particular language packs anymore?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby kenetics on Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:29 pm

I had a problem with the Ubuntu survey that kept wanting to be installed. So if anyone has the answer, it would be appreciated.
User avatar
kenetics
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on a Florida beach

Removal

Postby euthypro on Fri Feb 16, 2007 12:35 pm

Hi!

I simply used synaptic to remove all language packs except the ones I needed. So, no more wanting to update. Saves a bit of space also.

Angel
User avatar
euthypro
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Dumaguete, Philippines

Re: Removal

Postby antiquexray on Fri Feb 16, 2007 1:39 pm

euthypro wrote:Hi!

I simply used synaptic to remove all language packs except the ones I needed. So, no more wanting to update. Saves a bit of space also.

Angel


That wasn't my question. In the tool bar I have the notice to load the language packs. It won't go away. Is it possible to tell not to ask me for these language packs anymore?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Sorry!

Postby euthypro on Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:48 pm

Perhaps I misunderstood, but since the language packs are no longer installed, Update Manager doesn't ask to update them.
User avatar
euthypro
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Dumaguete, Philippines

Postby OzTracker on Fri Feb 16, 2007 4:42 pm

I had the same problem when I first loaded Bianca but just went into Control Center|Administration|Language Support and unchecked all the languages I wasn't interested in.

I've never been bothered with any requests for language updates since then.
User avatar
OzTracker
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2006 12:50 am

Re: Removal

Postby marcus0263 on Sat Feb 17, 2007 1:49 pm

antiquexray wrote:
euthypro wrote:Hi!

I simply used synaptic to remove all language packs except the ones I needed. So, no more wanting to update. Saves a bit of space also.

Angel


That wasn't my question. In the tool bar I have the notice to load the language packs. It won't go away. Is it possible to tell not to ask me for these language packs anymore?
That is the solution, use synaptic to remove the language packs and you will not be bothered with updating them.
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Removal

Postby antiquexray on Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:33 pm

marcus0263 wrote:
antiquexray wrote:
euthypro wrote:Hi!

I simply used synaptic to remove all language packs except the ones I needed. So, no more wanting to update. Saves a bit of space also.


That wasn't my question. In the tool bar I have the notice to load the language packs. It won't go away. Is it possible to tell not to ask me for these language packs anymore?
That is the solution, use synaptic to remove the language packs and you will not be bothered with updating them.


I might understand, perhaps, maybe, kind of...I hope. Are you saying that if I use Synaptic, and let's say do a search for language, it will bring all of them up and I can pick and chose the ones I don't want, thus stopping the need for an upgrade, or are you saying I have to make a list of current upgrades, search for them individually, and mark them for removal?
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Re: Removal

Postby marcus0263 on Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:10 pm

antiquexray wrote:
marcus0263 wrote:
antiquexray wrote:
euthypro wrote:Hi!

I simply used synaptic to remove all language packs except the ones I needed. So, no more wanting to update. Saves a bit of space also.


That wasn't my question. In the tool bar I have the notice to load the language packs. It won't go away. Is it possible to tell not to ask me for these language packs anymore?
That is the solution, use synaptic to remove the language packs and you will not be bothered with updating them.


I might understand, perhaps, maybe, kind of...I hope. Are you saying that if I use Synaptic, and let's say do a search for language, it will bring all of them up and I can pick and chose the ones I don't want, thus stopping the need for an upgrade, or are you saying I have to make a list of current upgrades, search for them individually, and mark them for removal?

Run Synaptic and do a search for language-pack then mark as "complete removal".

hint - <ctrl> <click> is your friend while removing them ;-)

Yes it would be nice if the installer gave you the option to install "additional" Languages or not. It's a pain, but once you remove them you shouldn't be bothered with it again unless there's an application with an upstream requirement for the dependency.
User avatar
marcus0263
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 9:40 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Removal

Postby antiquexray on Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:10 am

marcus0263 wrote:Run Synaptic and do a search for language-pack then mark as "complete removal".

hint - <ctrl> <click> is your friend while removing them ;-)

Yes it would be nice if the installer gave you the option to install "additional" Languages or not.


Well, I did as you instructed. There were a lot of language-packs. I deleted everything but English and Klingon (you never know when you might need to talk with a Klingon). I wish I would have kept track of how many megs I freed up. Everything worked fine, even <ctrl> <click>. Then a light went on :idea:, if <ctrl> <click> worked, would not <shift> <click>. Of course it did, and that, I found, was disturbing :(.

It brouth to mind a time, when entering a hospital, I saw a sign that said, "Over Eater Anonymous will meet in the cafeteria." I thought to myself, How strange is that :?: :?: :?:, wouldn't that be like Alcoholics Anonymous meeting in a bar :shock:? What's the connection you ask??? Just this, I realized that I use <ctrl> <click> and <shift> <click> in the Windows enviroment, and now trying to break myself of of this addiction after finding this most excellent distro, I was once again reminded of it :( (I need a drink...and maybe a pizza to go with it :wink:).
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Updates

Postby npap on Sun Feb 18, 2007 1:18 pm

Hello everybody,

antiquexray said. Quote:
#1 Is there really a reason to update these languages when all I'm going to use is English?

#2 Is there away to tell the Update Manager not to bother me with these particular language packs anymore?[/quote]

Answer:
Clem went to the trouble to set up an automatic language selection scheme in
Menu>Contol Center>Language Support. You don't have to go to synaptic.
Just uncheck the boxes under Support that you don't want, then wait until removal is complete, Leave your language checked! :)

You won't be bothered with unnecessary updates anymore, except an update for the language of your choice.

Another way is to disconnect your Internet connection when you are installing LinuxMint to your hard disc. Default language in this case is English.


PS Quote: Yes it would be nice if the installer gave you the option to install "additional" Languages or not.
Abswer:Clicking F4 in the installation menu gives you the choice of language.

Greetings, npap
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Re: Updates

Postby antiquexray on Sun Feb 18, 2007 2:18 pm

npap wrote:Clem went to the trouble to set up an automatic language selection scheme in
Menu>Contol Center>Language Support. You don't have to go to synaptic.
Just uncheck the boxes under Support that you don't want, then wait until removal is complete, Leave your language checked! :)


Now you tell me. You should have said so sooner :) NOT!!!
Psst, if you had I wouldn't have got my beer and pizza :lol:
User avatar
antiquexray
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:04 pm
Location: Albert Lea Minnesota USA

Updates

Postby npap on Sun Feb 18, 2007 2:41 pm

Well Antiquexray,
If you join us at the Mint Café once in a while you will get a Mint Julep and a pizza!
That's where we sometimes talk about serious things too, like Languages.
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Enlightenment!

Postby euthypro on Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:16 pm

Thank you npap. I search a bit in this and other forums while learning to use Linux, but had not seen or paid attention to that one. I answered this post because no one else did, and I had gone through the process. Nice to know there is an easier way. I believe OzTracker pointed that out a few postings up. It's a very nice feature, although it doesn't get the star billing with Mintdisk and others.

As far as installing without connecting, I had to do that, just because I had to go find some Ubuntu incantations to get my wireless to work. I still was loaded with all the language packs. I'll try F4 next time.

Cheers,

Angel
User avatar
euthypro
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Dumaguete, Philippines

Updates

Postby npap on Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:33 am

Hello Angel,
About languages, I have done some extensive checking. and here's what I found .
Hitting F4 at the start of the Live CD installation you can get a different language than the Default which is always English.
It changes the language in the menus: F1 thru F10. but you don't necessarily get your installation instructions in a different language, most of the time. They are in English; unless the Translation and Help files ( En,tr and en.hlp) in the Isolinux folder have been translated to that language in the installation CD.
F1 etc have nothing to do with the main language packs.

Language packs are always downloaded during the last part of the installation process. If you do your installation with your Internet connection disabled, you
simply don't get any other languages except English, by default.
What's more, you don't get the automatic updates for them. You just get the update for the English language pack.
Of course, you can download any language pack you want with Synaptic after the installation to the hard disc.

BTW, Clem had suggested not to make any selections of language etc before the hard disc installation, since this might cause the process to crash.
I don't know if this warning is still valid for the final Bianca release.

Greetings, npap
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1392
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests