Installing an ".RPM" package?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Installing an ".RPM" package?

Postby ambertone on Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:18 am

Hi all, I have a downloaded program I need to install. How do I install an RPM? package file on a Debian dased distro, not Redhat?

Cheers

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Installing an ".RPM package?"

Postby richard on Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:37 am

Load kpackage onto your computer with synaptic or install it from the control center (one of the many software packages you can install). Run kpackage and direct it to your rpm file. You'll have to be in 'root' mode and or type in your 'root' password. If the the package installs properly you will get a '0' as a final output
on the screen. If you get a '1' you have problems with dependency files that the rpm file needs in order to set up and install properly.


Rich
richard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 1:07 am

Postby manishk on Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:09 am

Here's another method

1. Install alien, if you haven't already
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install alien


2. Go to the directory that has the .rpm file
Code: Select all
alien <filename>.rpm
"...Many people can only keep on fighting when they expect to win. I'm not like that, I always expect to lose. I fight anyway, and sometimes I win."

-Stallman
User avatar
manishk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: India

Postby ambertone on Mon Feb 26, 2007 6:48 am

OK, dumb question, how do I code "alien <filename>.rpm" from the directory the RPM is in and not from a terminal screen?

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby ambertone on Mon Feb 26, 2007 6:54 am

Hi there, tried kpackage and got a heap of missing dependencies. What you do in this case?

Cheers

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby manishk on Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:20 am

Lets call your .rpm as file.rpm and assume its in your home folder.

Open a terminal, make sure its in the home folder...type this
cd ~

Then type this
alien file.rpm

IF all goes well, then you'll have a .deb in the same folder called file.deb




And regarding the missing dependencies for kpackage, did you install using Synaptic??
"...Many people can only keep on fighting when they expect to win. I'm not like that, I always expect to lose. I fight anyway, and sometimes I win."

-Stallman
User avatar
manishk
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: India

Re: Installing an ".RPM" package?

Postby scorp123 on Mon Feb 26, 2007 7:30 am

ambertone wrote:Hi all, I have a downloaded program I need to install. How do I install an RPM? package file on a Debian dased distro, not Redhat?
What program is that?? For most programs there should be *.deb packages, IMHO. Can you please tell us more?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby ambertone on Mon Feb 26, 2007 8:09 am

Hi there, trying to install Limewire Pro. I have the paid version.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby scorp123 on Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:09 am

ambertone wrote:Hi there, trying to install Limewire Pro. I have the paid version.
I almost suspected that. Why oh why don't you take the tar.gz or the *.deb version if one is available?? It's way easier! Besides: The free FrostWire has all the features of LimeWire Pro, except that it is free and costs zipp :wink: It's safe to say you paid money for nothing. :?
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby ambertone on Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:20 pm

I bought it a long time ago when using Windows and just always kept a copy for Linux just in case. I do know about Frostwire and will have ago with it.

Cheers

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby ambertone on Mon Feb 26, 2007 5:31 pm

Installed Frostwire with no problems but nothing happens when I click the icon, doesn't run. Back to square one.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby metapy on Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:56 am

Try this:
http://www.frostwire.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=666
Frequently if you can run the program, but it will not connect it is due to an outdated connection list.

Failing that I would search the frostwire and ubuntu forums there are tons of posts there that I am sure will cover the issue you are experiencing.

FrostWire Software Support forum:
http://www.frostwire.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=1
Search
http://www.frostwire.com/forum/search.php

Ubuntu forum post on frostwire:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=278134
Search
http://ubuntuforums.org/search.php
metapy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 9:01 pm

Postby ambertone on Tue Feb 27, 2007 4:10 am

Thanks for that, I'll do some reading. It's not that it opens and does not connect it simply does not open at all. Clicking the icon does nothing and I notice the icon is not the Frostwire icon but some default thing.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby scorp123 on Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:04 am

ambertone wrote:Thanks for that, I'll do some reading. It's not that it opens and does not connect it simply does not open at all. Clicking the icon does nothing and I notice the icon is not the Frostwire icon but some default thing.

And just in case you use Beryl too ...
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2145&#2145
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests