NTLDR is missing

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

NTLDR is missing

Postby Drk_Phoenix on Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:25 am

hi duno if this was posted or not but been spending all day trying to fix this and to no success..

ok my grub is configured correctly to boot from the correct NTFS hdd and partition (of which there is only one) but when i choose it from the grub boot menu it says

NTLDR is missing

press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart

and it was working fine before, so could a nice person out there give us a hand?? other wise i mite jst resort to more drastic measures...

also does the fact that i dont have any of my NTFS hdds mounted or unable to be mounted a issue???
User avatar
Drk_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby veloct on Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:54 am

I believe that's the windows boot loader missing.
User avatar
veloct
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:39 am
Location: CT, USA

NTLDR is missing

Postby npap on Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:19 am

Welcome Drk_Phoenix,
Here is a very useful program for mounting any partitions in case you have another problem with mount/unmount functions.
You can download it with Synaptic : pysdm

But you already have the mintDisk.: Main menu>Control Center>Hardware>mintDisk.

Good luck,
Npap
Last edited by npap on Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Plato
User avatar
npap
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1394
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:52 pm
Location: The Twilight Zone

Postby hairy_Palms on Thu Mar 15, 2007 7:21 am

happens to xp a lot more than you think, it corrupts either ntldr or ntdetect.com

to fix it do this

1. Insert the Windows XP bootable CD into the computer.
2. When prompted to press any key to boot from the CD, press any key.
3. Once in the Windows XP setup menu press the "R" key to repair Windows.
4. Log into your Windows installation by pressing the "1" key and pressing enter.
5. You will then be prompted for your administrator password, enter that password.
6. Copy the below two files to the root directory of the primary hard disk. In the below example we are copying these files from the CD-ROM drive letter "E". This letter may be different on your computer.

copy e:\i386\ntldr c:\
copy e:\i386\ntdetect.com c:\

7. Once both of these files have been successfully copied, remove the CD from the computer and reboot.
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby psycosmyth on Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:05 am

To confirm, Mr. hairy Palms :P was right on. I did this a couple of times.
psycosmyth
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:44 pm

Postby NiksaVel on Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:49 am

I had a problem with GRUB incorrectly identifying the windows partition... it gave the same symptoms


I messed around a bit with it and got it fixed no prob... it was with ubuntu dapper installation though...


if the above solution does not help, let us know and I'll dig up what I did...
User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

no luck

Postby Drk_Phoenix on Thu Mar 15, 2007 8:39 pm

ok i did what you said and copied ntdetect and ntldr. but it keeps saying that ntldr is missing??? also i got pysdm to work and it mounted the drives fine but it wont let me access them, saying that i dont have the correct permissions...

also i am using a win XP home Sp 1a CD but am running XP home SP2 would that matter at all???

also thanks for all the help guys really appreciate it :)
User avatar
Drk_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:08 am

Postby hairy_Palms on Fri Mar 16, 2007 10:28 am

once youve mounted them, press alt-f2 or open a terminal and type
gksudo nautilus, then navigate to your mounted disk and you should be able to access them.

as for ntldr still not being found it sounds like somethings seriously borked, might be time for a reninstall of windoze
User avatar
hairy_Palms
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 10:46 am

Postby NiksaVel on Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:19 am

User avatar
NiksaVel
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 806
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 am
Location: Croatia

Postby Drk_Phoenix on Fri Mar 16, 2007 6:51 pm

thought as much... ah well np there... jst a hassle to do so, ah well the old girl is in a need of one... thanks alot guys for the help :)
User avatar
Drk_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:08 am

SOLVED

Postby Drk_Phoenix on Wed Mar 21, 2007 12:18 am

ok all i did was do a fdisk mbr in my xpcd recovery and sha bang she works!! so yeah thanks heaps again guys
User avatar
Drk_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests