KDE login as root

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

KDE login as root

Postby bigbearomaha on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:04 am

I would like to try an experiment and login as root to the KDE GUI, the login manager says administrator is not allowed to do that. is there a way to override this?

Big Bear
User avatar
bigbearomaha
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby clem on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:06 am

You need to tweak the KDM configuration file to allow root to login... I think it's in /etc/kde3/kdm/kdmrc

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby bigbearomaha on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:16 am

I don't seem to have that file.

I think it's using gdm also. I looked in to that but it says theres a gdm config app should be used, but it isn't in the utils, etc, is that something to be d/l?
User avatar
bigbearomaha
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby bigbearomaha on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:25 am

I am trying to do what another fellow has asked about, which is to open permissions to partitions owned by root.

these are ext3 partitions that need to be rw by all users.

in the process, I thought, I would just login as root and do that, yes, I recall that Ubuntu does things the sudo way but that's why I prefer to use PCLOS because I have no memory LOL.

Having said that.


I am using your newest version and I must admit, you guys have pretty much closed the gap, and then some. Kudos to you all even more so.
I just thought that maybe an old dog who brain left the station a long time ago in trying to remember commands for sudo, it seems the ability to log in as root is fundamentally there, just hidden or blocked due to preference of the sudo ways.

but apparently, I do believe it's it is using gdm, that's been prohibited.


My FSTAB

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hda5 user,exec,rw,auto
UUID=f3e7e219-d522-4342-a6ec-f2ba416a6aea / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/hda1
UUID=10F4544AF45433E6 /media/hda1 ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=007,gid=46 0 1
/dev/hda3
UUID=22d3f188-5a65-4445-85d6-d10fb6562be1 /media/hda3 ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda4 user,exec,rw,auto
UUID=ad388d65-7395-4f92-a7f2-287dc0526425 /media/hda4 ext3 defaults 0 1
/dev/hda6 user,exec,rw,auto
UUID=8d90033b-65c8-4f5a-8b19-0f500d54a1c4 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/hdd /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 user,noauto 0 0
/dev/ /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0

This my current fstab, which I have no doubt is set incorrectly.

scold me if you must LOL, that's the true magic of the GUI, allowing the old "no-memory" folks like me to use the computer.

Big Bear[/quote]
Last edited by bigbearomaha on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bigbearomaha
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby clem on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:26 am

That file comes with KDM... if you're using GDM instead then you can change /etc/gdm/gdm.conf

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby bigbearomaha on Thu Mar 22, 2007 10:35 am

anyway. while I am trying to fix the one issue, I thought I might find a way to to the root login, if possible, just to see if it truly is possibl. ( if that sentence makes any sense, I'll be dog goned )

Big Bear
User avatar
bigbearomaha
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby bigbearomaha on Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:18 pm

ok,

the way to change ownership of a partition is

sudo chmod a+rw /media/hda3


or whatever your partition is called.

I'm still working out the login issue. But it's fun to work it out.

By the way, this tip brought to you courtesy of my copy of " Beginning Ubuntu Linux: From Novice to Professional" by Keir Thomas A VERY good book.

Big Bear
User avatar
bigbearomaha
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby clem on Fri Mar 23, 2007 4:35 am

That's funny, I would have changed the mount option in fstab... but if the book says so.. :roll: :lol:
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5514
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby bigbearomaha on Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:54 am

Well, that's the route I was going. As I looked it up in the book, His primary method of doing this was with chown. I used it and it worked right off the bat.


I can't argue with him, apparently, he knows a heck of allot more than I do about Linux and Ubuntu. lol :D


BIg Bear
User avatar
bigbearomaha
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests