Does Mint "do" InfraRed?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Does Mint "do" InfraRed?

Postby Uncle Bob on Sat Mar 24, 2007 4:48 am

Does Mint support infrared? If not; its a shame and if so, how to get this to work?

I want to use IR to transfer the odd photo taken from my mobile phone.
Cogito sumere potum alterum.

Image
User avatar
Uncle Bob
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:43 am
Location: Just another Shire in the United Kingdom

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Does Mint "do" InfraRed?

Postby nick on Sat Mar 24, 2007 6:05 am

Infrared devices support

This package contains infrared device drivers for the Linux kernel.


irda-modules-2.6.17-10-386-di in ubuntu edgy

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/edgy/+pack ... -10-386-di
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby Uncle Bob on Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:51 am

Thanks for that. I've downloaded it but do not know how to install it. When trying with Synaptic, it does not even see the file when trying to "add downloaded package" it does not see it. I have "installed" IRDA-UTILS after a search for Synaptic but still nothing happens. I see no icon or anyting anywhere on my machine, or in the mintMenu or in the device manager. When trying to send someting from my phone to my laptop via IR, I get the No device found message.

I dunno if the IR port is disabled in mint, but if this is the case, I cannot find where to enable it.
Cogito sumere potum alterum.

Image
User avatar
Uncle Bob
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:43 am
Location: Just another Shire in the United Kingdom

Does Mint "do" InfraRed?

Postby nick on Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:01 am

Hi Uncle Bob
Sorry I cannot be of more help, but it is just something I came across when try to configure my TV card the other day, never did get to try it as I have yet to configure TV card, hope somebody can help you
Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Postby Uncle Bob on Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:13 am

Thanks Nick; no problem at all. :D

...just makes me wonder about the "work straight out of the box" slogan.
Cogito sumere potum alterum.

Image
User avatar
Uncle Bob
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 9:43 am
Location: Just another Shire in the United Kingdom

Postby Husse on Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:14 am

Time to search for the app. If you know its name, you could right click the desktop>create "program starter" (I have a localized version so I am not sure if it's called that)
Fill in the first letters of the name and hit tab and you probably have it.
If not search for it - I prefer locate but then you must update the database first - sudo updatedb and then create a shortcut as mentioned above when you've found the app.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby nick on Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:28 am

HI
IrDA does not work out-of-the-box because the necessary package and configuration is not included in a stock Ubuntu install.
1. Install the missing package $ sudo apt-get install irda-utils
2. Configure irda-utils
$ sudo dpkg-reconfigure irda-utils
3. On the configure screen set the options as the following:
Activate IrDa on boot-up: yes
Attempt to probe for IrDa at system boot: yes
Discovery mode: yes
Typ of the IrDa-adaptor: native
Typ of the FIR-chip: nsc-ircc
Options for the modules of the FIR-chip:
Port for setserial to deactivate:

4. Restart IrDA:
$ sudo /etc/init.d/irda-utils stop
$ sudo /etc/init.d/irda-utils start
5. Load the FIR IrDA driver:
$ sudo modprobe irda0
6. Now test if activating IrDA was successful. Place your IrDA device (mobile phone, PDA or whatever) in front of the IrDA eye and activate IrDA on your device. Doing a
$ cat /proc/net/irda/discovery
should list your IrDA device.
Not sure if that is any help Uncle Bob
http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Installin ... -_4Mbps.29

PS cannot get TV card (usb stick) to work because Freecom keep selling the "same" usb TV stick but keep changing the firmware
i.e. my previous " same" usb tv card has different firmware to this one - Shame I stood on it :)
Nick

Nick
nick
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 686
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:04 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests