Noticable lag on laptop for a short time after boot

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
acejavelin
Level 2
Level 2

Noticable lag on laptop for a short time after boot

Post by acejavelin »

I have been running Mint for several months on my desktop as a primary OS, and have used Linux off and on since early Slackware days on a i386, so I am fairly familiar with day to day operations and figuring out most stuff for myself. My laptop was ancient to the point I didn't like to use it anymore, so I picked up an HP Probook 6550b for next to nothing and popped in an SSD drive and installed Mint Cinnamon. Initial couple of boots were extremely fast, the password prompt would come up in about 10 seconds, and after typing the password I would be at the desktop in about another 5 seconds. After going through a few guides to optimize my installation from the Easy Linux Tips project (https://sites.google.com/site/easylinux ... amon-first and https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/ssd) I have noticed a noticeable delay on booting up, taking 45 sec to get the password prompt, then lag well typing in the characters, and then a 45-60 second delay of black screen with only a mouse cursor before the desktop is presented to me, at this point for another 30-60 seconds the system is very laggy and slow then everything runs along very quick and smoothly. During the lag time on the password screen and into the login portion bringing me to the desktop, the HD activity light is lit solid, as soon as it goes out the lag and delays are gone.