My applications are squished

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

My applications are squished

Postby havedampton on Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:46 pm

I just started up the computer today and when I went to the menu, something was wrong- part of the menu is too narrow. This has happened before and I restarted and it went away, but this time that's not working.

Image
User avatar
havedampton
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:58 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby AlsaPhil on Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:19 pm

Hi, go to Romeo on this forum > mintmenu 2.0 and follow Clem's explanation regarding install :wink:
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

Postby lars on Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:36 pm

Or:
Rightclick on the menubutton and start "Preferences".
Now the Gnome Configuration Editor will show up.
On the left side you will see "mintMenu".
Expand "plugins" and select "applications". Then on the right side scroll down and find "width". Change it's value to about 400.
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby AlsaPhil on Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:03 pm

Das ist noch besser :lol:
Respect for the developer :lol: and thanks for the good job
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

thanks, I fiigured it out

Postby havedampton on Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:07 pm

I finally figured out what to do (it was lars' solution.)

BUT....
Can anyone tell me why this just randomly happened?
User avatar
havedampton
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:58 am

Postby lars on Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:17 pm

There was an update to mintMenu 2.0 in romeo.

The menu now actually uses the width it's told to use.

It was actually a bug that it would expand itself in older versions and only shrink itself sometimes ( which won't happen anymore ).
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby Husse on Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:30 am

There was a minor update to the kernel yesterday or the day before. I got the same problem after that, going to solve it now :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse on Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:54 am

That's odd. I already have mintmenu 2.0 and removed it and put it back on the panel. Now I've got the standard Ubuntu icon to the left of Bianca...
:?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby lars on Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:25 am

The icon is taken from the current theme.
You probably changed your theme to a that does use the ubuntu icon instead of the mint icon.
lars
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:58 am

Postby Husse on Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:01 pm

Yes - theme changed - but not by me - knowingly at least :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests