SOLVED: Bianca KDE Edition - BETA 022 - Networking Problem

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

SOLVED: Bianca KDE Edition - BETA 022 - Networking Problem

Postby master_b on Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:25 pm

I unable to access the Internet with Beta022 LiveCD

I have set the IP to static - same details as the Kubuntu 6.06 I'm running on this PC.

I have enabled eth0 via /menu/ctrl center/networking/networking - selected Wired Connection /Properties and enabled this connection.

I am running this PC on a home LAN through an ADSL Modem/Router and 8 port Ethernet Switch.

AS I am using the same IP as my HD installed Kubuntu, there will be no problems with the Router as I have not redirected any of the standard ports ( HTTP/FTP etc).

I can ping the Router but not anything outside.

I CAN Whois my ISP and packets are being sent/recvd.

I CANT get Firefox to connect to any site.

Apart from this problem, the only thing that I don't like about Bianca KDE Edition 022 is the Menu system, which I assume is part of the latest KDE version.

Thanks in advance for any help with the Networking problem, as I'd loke to solve this so that I can install to my laptop ( currently running the latest Mepis).

master_b
Last edited by master_b on Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
master_b
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby telic on Mon Apr 16, 2007 8:28 pm

If my PC had those symptoms, I'd check for proper operation of the Domain Name Server (DNS).

I don't currently have KDE Bianca installed, so I can't suggest where to look in your setup.

Double-check the sanity of Firefox Edit > Preferences > Advanced > Network > Settings.

------
telic
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 7:48 am

SOLVED: Bianca KDE Edition - BETA 022 - Networking Problem

Postby master_b on Mon Apr 16, 2007 11:57 pm

telic, thanks for the reply.

Seems to be some problem with using DHCP.

Set static IP manually and when I got the gateway IP correct ( must have mis-typed it earlier), connected to 'Net without problem.

Only other problem is that I downloaded the LinuxMint iso torrent from the Lintelligence link on LInuxMint site and somehow managed to get the wrong iso - got the Gnome version.

Am currently downloading the 2.2-KDE-Beta-0.22 version from /newelite.ath.cx site.

Thanks again

master_b
master_b
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:08 am

Postby Boo on Tue Apr 17, 2007 12:00 am

No No that is the right distro version.
:lol:
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Bianca KDE Edition - BETA 022 - Networking Problem

Postby master_b on Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:01 am

Sorry Boo but it wasn't the right distro version - at least not what I got from the torrent.(LinuxMint-2.2.iso.torrent (27.14 KB / 10263 downloads / 272.06 MB traffic))

Have just burned the DVD from the ath.cx website and this is the right one (http://newelite.ath.cx/linuxmint/LinuxM ... TA-022.iso)

KDE beta 0.22 version is very nice and once I'd set it to static IP it worked great ( as a livedvd).

Still don't like "tasty-menu"

Will try it on my Laptop as LiveDVD before I attempt to install it.

By the way, this message is being written from the LiveDVD.

master_b
master_b
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:08 am

Bianca KDE Edition - BETA 022 - Networking Problem

Postby master_b on Tue Apr 17, 2007 2:05 am

Addendum to above

The torrent.(LinuxMint-2.2.iso.torrent (27.14 KB / 10263 downloads / 272.06 MB traffic)) is the ONLY torrent on the site and it is for the latest STABLE release ( of the Gnome Version)

There is no torrent listed for the KDE version.

I downloaded the wrong iso ( ie not the KDE version) initially. My bad. :roll:

master_b
master_b
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:08 am

Bianca KDE Edition - BETA 022 - Networking Problem

Postby master_b on Tue Apr 17, 2007 4:29 am

LinuxMint LiveCD (/LinuxMint-2.2-KDE-BETA-022.iso)
runs fine obn my BenQ laptop - even DHCP works this time without need to set it up

master_b
master_b
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 5:08 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests