Monitor resolution problem

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Monitor resolution problem

Postby ambertone on Mon Apr 30, 2007 4:07 am

Hi all,

changeing from a 19" CRT (1024 x 768 @85hz) to a 17" TFT/LCD which I want to run at 1280 x 1024 except the screen res won't change. I can select the new res but the display does not change (it does show the keep new or use old prompt over the the original 1024 x 768)

When looking in the config it still shows my old monitor.

Any help appreciated.

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:47 am

This is a point where it is not as simple and straightforward as you would like.
You could reconfigure xserver (sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg ) but that makes you install the driver again and that's overkill.
this should do it if you're in gnome. Change accordingly if you use KDE
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Study the file and you will see a section like this
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "metamodes" "1280x1024 +0+0; 800x600 +0+0; 640x480 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection

You can copy/paste this or just add 1280x1024 +0+0;
in the beginning of the line. This is for a 17 inch LCD
The +0+0 is there only if you have a 0 added in the beginning I think, so you should adjust accordingly
//edit//
I only have settings for 24 bit color depth
there may be settings for 1 (yes!), 8, 15 and 16 bits as well
Last edited by Husse on Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby scorp123 on Mon Apr 30, 2007 6:08 am

Tsssss .... in SUSE all you have to do is open "yast", select your new screen resolution, and voila you're done :D I really wonder why so many newbies choose Ubuntu and the like when these distros aren't newbie-friendly at all ??? :?

I'm off-topic ... I know :twisted:
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby ambertone on Mon Apr 30, 2007 7:08 am

Now that's interesting, I used "gksu gedit /etc/ X11/xorg.conf & when I edited out resolutions below 800 x 600 a while back and it worked in Gnome.

Re-installing the vidio driver is simple so I might try that. Do I need to remove it and reinstall or just install over the top of the current driver?

Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am

Postby Husse on Mon Apr 30, 2007 7:28 am

use the reconfigure option in my first answer
(or of course envy....)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby ambertone on Mon Apr 30, 2007 8:45 am

use the reconfigure option in my first answer

You're a gem, thank you. That did it.

Cheers


Rod
User avatar
ambertone
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 6:12 am


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests