(Return from) Suspend not working on HP Pavilion Laptop

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

(Return from) Suspend not working on HP Pavilion Laptop

Postby allan on Fri May 11, 2007 12:00 am

Hi all,

(Return from) Suspend has never worked on any distro of linux that I've installed on my HP dv8000 laptop. It works perfectly on windows XP. I would very much like to get suspend to work on my laptop in linux. This feature is almost a must have for me. What steps can I take to troubleshoot this? Does it depend on the video driver? (Mine is ATI Radeon Xpress 200M)

What happens when I try to suspend is that the suspend itself seems to work, but when I try to resume the machine seems to power up but all I get is a black screen.

Currently have Bianca KDE and Cassandra Beta 012 installed...

Thanks in advance for any help!
allan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:36 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Fri May 11, 2007 11:38 am

It can be the driver - I've seen reports that the ATI drivers on this laptop breaks suspend/hibernate.
There is a dv8000t that has intel/nividia which seems to work fine and there is the 8000z that you have (I believe) with lots of problem reports but not much of a solution reported
Try another driver if you can - install via envy if possible
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby allan on Fri May 11, 2007 11:43 am

Husse,

Thanks for the input. I've tried both the ati and fglrx drivers. Neither seems to work better then the other as far as resuming from suspend.

Is there some log file somewhere that might indicate what's going on?
allan
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:36 pm

Postby Husse on Fri May 11, 2007 12:50 pm

I don't use suspend/hibernate - have had to many problems in the past - so exactly what you'll find I don't know bot logs are (generally) in /var/logs
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests