Put my hdb on My Computer?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Put my hdb on My Computer?

Postby Zepinto on Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:58 am

I have a second HD formated on FAT32 plugged in.
When i installed Ubuntu, it was automatically recognized and all i had to do was mount it. and there it was, inside "My Computer". It didn't happen with Mint, so i entered by myself
/dev/hdb /media/hdb vfat iocharset=utf8,umask=000 0 0

on fstab.
But it isn't iside "My Compute" now... How can i put an icon to it in there?
Ty!
Daniel
Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Sorensei on Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:13 am

I cannot check at the moment - I'm not at home - but I think Feisty and all distros based on it now identify even IDE disks as sda/b/etc.

Might be why it doesn't work... have you checked how your primary disk appears in fstab?
I don't have a solution, but I do admire the problem.
User avatar
Sorensei
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 8:24 am
Location: Switzerland

Postby Zepinto on Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:40 am

well, it IS mounted, and working just fine.... so i think it is hdb on fstab....
I use exactly that line u saw up there....
What I cant do is putting an icon of it into "My Computer", like my CD drives or the filesystem.....
Ty!
Daniel.
Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Postby Zepinto on Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:00 am

Zepinto wrote:well, it IS mounted, and working just fine.... so i think it is hdb on fstab....
I use exactly that line u saw up there....
What I cant do is putting an icon of it into "My Computer", like my CD drives or the filesystem.....
Ty!
Daniel.



One more thing, how can i remove the icons for "My Computer" and "Home" from desktop?!
Ty!
Daniel.
Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am

Postby cogDis on Fri Jun 01, 2007 10:53 pm

mintDesktop (System Preferences) should solve both of your issues.

CD
cogDis
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:17 pm

Postby Zepinto on Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:18 pm

cogDis wrote:mintDesktop (System Preferences) should solve both of your issues.

CD


^^
Solved the desktop one!!!
Ty!
Daniel.
Zepinto
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:52 am


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests