Composite extension

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Composite extension

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:09 pm

If I click desktop effect in Cassandra I get "composite extension is not available", now I'm guessing as I have an ATI card its been disabled in xorg.conf?

Should I manually change it?

Although, having a look at my xorg.conf reveals

//
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "0"
EndSection
//
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:36 pm

Do you have the right driver - fglrx?
It can be installed with Envy, but according to some posts in the forum you may have to do it over and over again... :shock:
You could always try to change to "1" - if you know your way with a terminal as you may have to use rescue mode to change it back.....
Computers....
D1Wayne is right - there's some bug with vendor ID as well.... forgot about that, not so many questions about it yet but this may soon change
Last edited by Husse on Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby D1Wayne on Sat Jun 02, 2007 4:39 pm

Hi thedeerhunter270 -

perhaps, perhaps not there are some cards that are liked by xorg 7.2 and some jt does not like.

it even seems the same graphic engines have yes/no answers according to the Ubuntu forums the bug was discovered in parsing the vendor id string so if you post your Manufacturer make and model, such as GigaByte Radeon 9550.
and post the driver and display section of the xorg.conf file we can see if there is a solution.

or you can search these forums for you card and see if the solution has already been found, if not google +cardModel +beryl +feisty
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:26 am

Husse wrote:Do you have the right driver - fglrx?


I think so - I used the restricted divers option to install - maybe I'll use Envy and try it again
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:32 am

D1Wayne wrote:post the driver and display section of the xorg.conf file we can see if there is a solution.

Funnily enough it is a Radeon 9550.
I'll have a little tinker this morning, and see if I can suss it.
If not I'll post my xorg.conf here a bit later.
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 5:44 am

They machine I was testing that 9550 has only 256mb memory and I did not get beryl running on this card had orig, a GeForce2 MX400 that barely ran Beryl at low res so my problems may be lack of memory for 9550
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:07 am

Just tried desktop effects on my laptop which has shared graphics mem, seems to work ok.
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 6:26 am

I take it it has more than 256mb memory :D
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:01 am

D1Wayne wrote:I take it it has more than 256mb memory :D


Nope - its set to share a up to 128Mb from the 512 of main ram.
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 9:06 am

my problem the dell 8100 256mb memory
260.00 to upgrade that crap rdram to 512mb (damn INTEL and infineon) :shock:
that is why it wikk be front-end to a myth configure perhaps
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:21 pm

256 is a bit low for Gnome I guess.

I have an old laptop with 256Mb, I was hoping to put Mint on that - but it doesn't have a CDROM anymore (broken).

I would have had the same issues with desktop effects with that too I reckon.
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:31 pm

on the cheap get an external 5.25in external usb drive case slap in cdrw drive
when not used the cd, swap in a extra hdd :D
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Postby thedeerhunter270 on Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:38 pm

D1Wayne wrote:on the cheap get an external 5.25in external usb drive case slap in cdrw drive

I bought an external DVD writer partly for the purpose of booting my old laptop - it wouldn't have it unfortunately.

It will boot a USB stick - thats the way I got XP installed. So far Linux has beaten me as I can't boot a CD.

Having said that, I did get it to boot and install DSL via the USB stick - but I need something that I can wifi on that is easier to setup that DSL.
<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>
User avatar
thedeerhunter270
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:41 am
Location: Wessex Englalond

Postby D1Wayne on Sun Jun 03, 2007 4:52 pm

what system is currently on the the laptop

if linux this link might be of use
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?t=238572

if windows then this link
http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/xpvirtualcd.html
D1Wayne
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 6:11 am
Location: Pacific North West

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests