Problems with shutdown in KDE

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Postby flammenwurfer on Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:58 pm

I'm having this exact same problem with my Lenovo N100 laptop. Is there anyway to change the command that the shutdown button in kde uses?

Also, if it is a graphics driver issue would switching from i810 to the new intel driver possibly fix it?
User avatar
flammenwurfer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:17 pm

Topic split
Please start a new post instead of adding yourselft to a post that's almost a month old
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:05 am

I don't know much about KDE specifics so there I have no answer. But changing the driver is probably a good idea anyhow.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby flammenwurfer on Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:46 pm

I'm sorry, I didn't realize how old it was.

Anyways, I solved the problem! My theory was correct. I installed the "xserver-xorg-video-intel" package with Synaptic. Then I edited xorg.conf and changed the video driver to "intel". Rebooted, and shutdown and restart functions all now work flawlessly!


By the way my machine is a Lenovo 3000 N100 14.1" screen with the intel gma950 integrated graphics. Hopefully this helps others experiencing the same problems.
User avatar
flammenwurfer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:52 pm

Postby Ledda on Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:48 am

and for a ati chipset?? My laptop will shutdown, but it wont do a reboot... (bianca kde)
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby Husse on Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:33 am

what happens if you use
shutdown -r now
in a terminal?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Ledda on Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:38 am

tried that before... same result as using the GUI.
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby OU812 on Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:36 am

I am having problems, too: I don't remember having problems on my laptop, but I am having problems on my desktop. It looks like everything has shutdown, but the fan and lights on the box remain on. I have to hit the reset button then the power button once the bios bootsplash appears. I have a fresh install of the mini cd and did an upgrade, but that's it.

john

EDIT
I just found a thread with a similar problem. The author also has an ati card in his desktop. His solution was to edit a file. When next I boot that machine, I will follow the instructions, and of course, report back.
OU812
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests