Problems with shutdown in KDE

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Postby flammenwurfer on Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:58 pm

I'm having this exact same problem with my Lenovo N100 laptop. Is there anyway to change the command that the shutdown button in kde uses?

Also, if it is a graphics driver issue would switching from i810 to the new intel driver possibly fix it?
User avatar
flammenwurfer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:52 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:17 pm

Topic split
Please start a new post instead of adding yourselft to a post that's almost a month old
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Husse on Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:05 am

I don't know much about KDE specifics so there I have no answer. But changing the driver is probably a good idea anyhow.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby flammenwurfer on Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:46 pm

I'm sorry, I didn't realize how old it was.

Anyways, I solved the problem! My theory was correct. I installed the "xserver-xorg-video-intel" package with Synaptic. Then I edited xorg.conf and changed the video driver to "intel". Rebooted, and shutdown and restart functions all now work flawlessly!


By the way my machine is a Lenovo 3000 N100 14.1" screen with the intel gma950 integrated graphics. Hopefully this helps others experiencing the same problems.
User avatar
flammenwurfer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:52 pm

Postby Ledda on Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:48 am

and for a ati chipset?? My laptop will shutdown, but it wont do a reboot... (bianca kde)
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby Husse on Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:33 am

what happens if you use
shutdown -r now
in a terminal?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Ledda on Tue Jun 12, 2007 8:38 am

tried that before... same result as using the GUI.
User avatar
Ledda
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon May 14, 2007 11:35 am
Location: Gent, Belgium

Postby OU812 on Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:36 am

I am having problems, too: I don't remember having problems on my laptop, but I am having problems on my desktop. It looks like everything has shutdown, but the fan and lights on the box remain on. I have to hit the reset button then the power button once the bios bootsplash appears. I have a fresh install of the mini cd and did an upgrade, but that's it.

john

EDIT
I just found a thread with a similar problem. The author also has an ati card in his desktop. His solution was to edit a file. When next I boot that machine, I will follow the instructions, and of course, report back.
OU812
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:01 pm
Location: California, USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests