Reset Panel?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Reset Panel?

Postby Sanchopinky on Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:56 pm

I installed something I had no clue about synaptic, ever since then when I rebooted instead of getting the cassandra loading thing.. I got a blue Gnome splash screen. Also my panel was a small rectangle and everything was gone. I tried setting it as it was before but the placement is all wrong and I'm having trouble resizing the window list thing.


Can someone tell me how to get it back to how it was? I tried restoring an old back up but that was no use.


This is what synaptic history says:



Commit Log for Fri Jun 15 19:11:40 2007


Installed the following packages:
libart-2.0-dev (2.3.17-1)
libart2 (1.4.2-35)

Commit Log for Fri Jun 15 19:13:16 2007


Completely removed the following packages:
rhythmbox

Commit Log for Fri Jun 15 19:13:46 2007


Installed the following packages:
music-applet (0.9.2-3)
rhythmbox (0.10.0-0ubuntu2)
rhythmbox-applet (0.9.2-3)

Commit Log for Fri Jun 15 19:28:23 2007


Completely removed the following packages:
libart2



:Edit:

Can't believe I made this mistake.. can someone move this topic to it's corresponding category? Thanks.. :oops: :oops:
Sanchopinky
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:08 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Jun 16, 2007 2:32 pm

Completely removed the following packages:
libart2

That's the last entry ....
libart2 seems to be rather essential for gnome...
Reinstall it and hopefully your OK

http://packages.debian.org/unstable/oldlibs/libart2

And - yes there is a difference between General Announcements and General Help :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Sanchopinky on Sat Jun 16, 2007 8:52 pm

Hehe, thanks for your help it's just that I had firefox open and had multiple tabs open from this forum. I guess I picked the wrong tab, I'm sorry and really embarrassed. :oops:

The problem is worse than I thought... I used the back-up/restore program from Automatix and it seems that programs like Libart and Clam AV are broken and I can't install or uninstall :?
Sanchopinky
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 10:08 pm

Postby Husse on Sun Jun 17, 2007 6:27 am

There are a few commands you can use mentioned in this post
http://www.linuxmint.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3287
Change your /etc/apt/sources.list to reflect the change in medibuntu and begin with sudo apt-get update
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests