gdm theme changed, now blank screen....:(

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

gdm theme changed, now blank screen....:(

Postby 67comet on Sun Jul 15, 2007 3:49 am

I tried to change the login theme to show users instead of a blank text bar, but once I rebooted, I get a black screen with a circle (that normally goes away in a few seconds) .. and nothing. I can ctrl+alt+f2 and be in cli mode, but I never get gdm back.

I tried:
Code: Select all
sudo aptitude reinstall gdm

Code: Select all
sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm


and now I finally installed kdm so at least I could login.

Ideas on what file I can toss or change to get gdm back? I used to change them around in Gentoo but have long forgot which file you change for that.

Thanks,
Justin
67comet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2007 5:41 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sun Jul 15, 2007 6:05 am

you should undo your changes - it's always a good idea to have a log (hand written on a piece of paper to help if you can't log in)
The themes are in
/usr/share/gdm/themes
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: gdm theme changed, now blank screen....:(

Postby scorp123 on Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:00 am

67comet wrote:
Code: Select all
sudo aptitude reinstall gdm
This isn't Windows :roll: ... De-installing and re-installing is not going to help you as most likely the config file will just remain there on the disk and just become active again when you re-install.

It would be better if you went into your system's preferences menu and changed the login manager settings.
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby Husse on Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:41 am

scorp123 wrote
67comet wrote:
Code: Select all
sudo aptitude reinstall gdm

This isn't Windows :roll: ... De-installing and re-installing is not going to help you as most likely the config file will just remain there on the disk and just become active again when you re-install.

Yes - if you want to get completely rid of something you do
Code: Select all
apt-get --purge remove your_program

For something so important as gdm I would only use that as the very last resort
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby scorp123 on Sun Jul 15, 2007 3:17 pm

Husse wrote: Yes - if you want to get completely rid of something you do
Code: Select all
apt-get --purge remove your_program

For something so important as gdm I would only use that as the very last resort
Yes, that's pretty much "heavy metal" ... e.g. like cleaning a house by having a bulldozer run through it. :P
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests