How do I set locale to it_IT?

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

How do I set locale to it_IT?

Postby radames on Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:41 pm

I need to set locale to it_IT (not uTF-8).

I do I do that?

Thanks
radames
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:38 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Tue Jul 17, 2007 1:55 pm

You can adjust your keyboard settings in the menu - just add italian. For language support (i.e. have the menus and what not translated) you have to install the language (in synaptics or apt-get)
If I miss something post back
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby radames on Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:18 am

Thanks for your answer, but the question is not about the keybord layout, which is OK, neither about the interface language. I prefer english, so it easier to find information on the net in case of troubles.

The question is about the character encoding (it_IT; it_IT.UTF.8 , it_IT@euro, it_IT@euro.UTF-8 or en_EN, en_EN.UTF-8 and so on.

How do I change them?
radames
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:38 pm

Postby Husse on Wed Jul 18, 2007 4:07 pm

in Firefox Edit>Preferences>Content>Advanced
else I don't know - never thought about it
Where do you want to change it?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby radames on Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:06 pm

Why Firefox?

I want to change it in the whole system. Well, I wanted, now I do not need it anymore, but i'd like to know all the same.
radames
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:38 pm

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:20 am

Why Firefox - partly because of my ignorance - I had a bit of a problem to find a good solution :)
To set the locale for bash (the terminal) you have a solution here:
http://www.linux.com/base/ldp/howto/Ind ... ocale.html
For the entire system I finally found:
http://linuxreviews.org/man/locale/
and it seems to be localedef you use
man localedef
It's a good idea to bookmark
http://linuxreviews.org/man/index.html.en
as this is a comprehensive walk through
Never thought of just setting the locale :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests