DPKG was interrupted

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

DPKG was interrupted

Postby Malakym on Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:07 pm

Hey, folks.

I'm a newbie when it comes to linux in general, so there are a few things I'm still not sure about. Well, basically everything I'm unsure about...

I booted up the system earlier on, and went to update. This error message came up:

Code: Select all
E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.


So, I typed in the command it asked me to type into the terminal:

Code: Select all
dpkg: requested operation requires superuser privilege


It doesn't give a prompt to type in my password. :?

Any ideas as to what I can do?

Thanks a lot.
Malakym
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:57 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:17 pm

requires superuser privilege
That is the magic sudo command. So put sudo in front of the command and it'll work.
If the problem isn't solved post back
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Malakym on Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:27 pm

Oh, sorry, I forgot about the sudo part. D'oh!

When I typed that in a box popped up and said something along the lines of:

Your APT sources were corrupt, they have now been sorted.

I went into the install software app this time, and another message popped up. Yay.

Code: Select all
E: The package virtualbox needs to be reinstalled, but I can't find an archive for it.
E: Internal error opening cache (1). Please report.


The window closes down when I click close.

Which reminded me. We had a power cut the other day, and guess what I was trying to install...

This time, it hasn't given me any guide lines for what to type in.

I've tried to re-install virtualbox, but it doesn't get passed the preperation stage.

Thanks for the help.

Edit: Just noticed, pidgin isn't running. Well, it does for a minute or two then just closes with no notification. Don't have a clue if its related to the other problem, though. :?
Malakym
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:57 pm

Postby Husse on Fri Jul 20, 2007 4:30 pm

If you installed and had a power failure you could get really funny results :)
I have a solution here that may work.
Code: Select all
This occurs when the *.bin files in

/var/cache/apt/

become corrupted. Why they become corrupted seems to be a mystery ...
The solution is to delete all  *.bin files in that directory (which requires using sudo). After doing that, both Synaptic and apt-get should work fine.

Delete sudo rm path_to_file/file
Be careful with what you do.
After doing that run
Code: Select all
dpkg --configure -a
again to be sure.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby Malakym on Fri Jul 20, 2007 5:21 pm

Fantastic! That has fixed it.

Thanks a lot for your help. (:
Malakym
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 12:57 pm


Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests