Mint Menu Application Plugin errors

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Mint Menu Application Plugin errors

Postby bjb1959 on Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:11 pm

I had to rebuild my desktop by adding a new user etc and now the mintmenu gives me the following errors when I try to add it to the panel. I have uninstalled and reinstalled mintmenu but still get the errors. Any ideas how to fix this?

Couldn't initialize plugin "applications":
Traceback (most recent call last):

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/mintMenu_frontend.py", line 220, in PopulatePlugins
MyPlugin.do_plugin()

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 723, in do_plugin
self.Todos()

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 413, in Todos
self.buildButtonList()

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/applications.py", line 494, in buildButtonList
ItemButton = MenuApplicationLauchner( grandchild.get_desktop_file_path(), self.iconsize, child.get_name(), self.showapplicationcomments )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 268, in __init__
ApplicationLauncher.__init__( self, desktopFile, iconSize )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 202, in __init__
easyButton.__init__( self, appIconName, iconSize )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 119, in __init__
icon = self.getIcon( self.iconSize )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 164, in getIcon
icon = iconManager.getIcon( self.iconName, iconSize )

File "/usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/plugins/easybuttons.py", line 53, in getIcon
icon = gtk.gdk.pixbuf_new_from_file_at_size( iconName, iconWidth, iconHeight )

GError: Unrecognized image file format
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:34 pm

Remove mintMenu completely
Code: Select all
apt-get --purge remove mintmenu

and then install it
Code: Select all
apt-get install mintmenu
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

I purged and reinstalled but get exact same errors.

Postby bjb1959 on Mon Aug 20, 2007 2:45 pm

Husse, thanks for the help, I tried what you said to do but get the exact same error message when I try to add mintmenu to the panel. Any other ideas?
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

It didn't work.. any other ideas?

Postby bjb1959 on Mon Aug 20, 2007 4:18 pm

Husse, I did what you told me to but it didn't fix the problem. I can use Ubuntu System Panel but not mintmenu. I get the exact same error as before when I try to add it to the panel. Any ideas?
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby Husse on Mon Aug 20, 2007 6:01 pm

I'll get back to you. The error is not in mintMenu if this happens after you've done that.
Have to think a bit when I'm not so tired :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Take your time, I appreciate any help you can give

Postby bjb1959 on Mon Aug 20, 2007 7:35 pm

Take your time, I appreciate any help you can give
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby Husse on Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:51 am

Right click Cassandra and select Preferences
You will see the configuration editor with mintmenu in focus
Expand plugins and then applications
I think the error is there. Take a look and see if you see anything odd - unfortunately I don't see a way to copy the contents of that window
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

I will try that

Postby bjb1959 on Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:30 am

Thanks, I will try that. I had a thought, I have Ubuntu System Panel installed which works fine (except that focus stealing prevention doesn't work in compiz fusion) and I also have SLAB installed which has the same problem as mintmenu. could usp be causing some problem all of a sudden? it was fine before and could co-exist with mintmenu but could something have happened with that?
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

here is my gconf, do you see anything wrong?

Postby bjb1959 on Tue Aug 21, 2007 9:03 am

here is a link to my gconf settings for mintmenu applications plugin. I don't know what I should be looking for here but do you see anything wrong?

http://bartburroughs.hopto.org/snapshot1.png
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby Husse on Wed Aug 22, 2007 6:16 am

Yes usp and mintmenu does not like each other - cant be installed both
Can't give you a link to an extensive thread about that as I don't find it but there is one in the forum
Don't know why I don't find it searching for usp
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Well, that didn't work either

Postby bjb1959 on Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:51 am

Well, I used usp_update uninstall complete then uninstalled and re-installed mintmenu and still get exactly the same errors. I am at a complete loss at this point, any ideas on your end?
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

I will just use usp

Postby bjb1959 on Thu Aug 23, 2007 1:10 pm

Thanks for all the help but this must be something that can't be solved without a reinstall which I don't want to do so I will just continue to use usp as my menu since neither mintmenu or slab work any longer. Hopefully it will work itself out when I do an upgrade to the next version of Mint.
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Postby Husse on Sat Aug 25, 2007 4:54 pm

Well - I remember that I, Clem and possibly lars discussed this in a thread where someone else had the same problem - but I can't find it, and I believe that there was a solution there... (possibily uninstall usp but anyway...)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby clem on Sat Aug 25, 2007 6:33 pm

It's to do with the theme, revert to the original Cassandra theme in Control Center->theme. Some icon is missing from you current theme and mintMenu crashes because of that.

Make sure you also update mintmenu to the latest version, version 2.3, (sudo apt-get update; sudo apt-get install mintmenu) because I think Lars (dev of mintMenu) actually fixed this problem in the past.

Clem
Image
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5541
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Thanks, I'll try that

Postby bjb1959 on Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:08 pm

Thanks, I'll try that and post here if it works for others that might have the same problem.
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

that didn't work either

Postby bjb1959 on Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:16 pm

Thanks guys, but that didn't work either. I am fine using usp for now. when I upgrade to the next mint version that will hopefully take care of that problem.
User avatar
bjb1959
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Jul 27, 2007 11:26 am
Location: Omaha, NE

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests