Desktop settings not being held.

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

Desktop settings not being held.

Postby alan2273 on Mon Aug 27, 2007 5:55 pm

For some reson just lately when I boot up the desktop defaults to 640-480, from my usual settings of 1280-1024.
Sometimes rebooting corrects it but not always.
Any one got any ideas on this.
User avatar
alan2273
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Boo on Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:26 pm

check your video cable connections, reseat them and do them up.

the screen defaulting to 640x480 is what happens if you boot your computer with the monitor unplugged.
at boot the system notices that no monitor is plugged in and reverts to a safe mode (just in case you connected some old unknown monitor).

this could be a pre symptom of the monitor about to die. :(

:D
Image
Now where was i going? Oh yes, crazy!
User avatar
Boo
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2364
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 7:48 am

Postby alan2273 on Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:22 am

Thanks for that reply Boo, but it is definitely not the monitor, as the one computer is a dual boot and Windows has no problems with it, and the other one has open SuSe 10.2 on it.
Both computers use the same screen through a KVM switch and I have also tried another KVM switch with no problems so it is not the monitor.
The strange thing is I never had this problem with Bianca, it only started after I did a fresh install of Cassandra.
Any other thoughts?.
User avatar
alan2273
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: England

Postby linuxviolin on Tue Aug 28, 2007 6:49 pm

alan2273 wrote:I have also tried another KVM switch with no problems so it is not the monitor.

Undoubtedly a problem with the KVM switch.:wink: I had also a problem with a KVM switch which on one of the screens gave a "green" colored desktop… With another switch, no problems.:roll:
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby alan2273 on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:13 am

Definitely not a problem with the KVM switch, as I tried another one.
Out of interest I uninstalled Cassandra and installed Bianca, and the problems have disappeared.
User avatar
alan2273
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: England

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:13 am

I vote for an explanation along Boo's lines. There may be some (probably minor) difference in signaling in vga that causes the screen to revert to 640*480
Different driver may be sufficient
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby alan2273 on Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:27 pm

I had tried the latest Nvidia drivers, and the two previous versions and they made no difference.
I installed them using Envy and manually and still get the same problem using Cassandra.

Out of interest I am going to change the Nvidia graphics card for an ATI one and see what happens.
User avatar
alan2273
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 2:36 pm
Location: England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: huhu Jalin and 3 guests