how to get windows ac 97' realteck codecs for linux plz help

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

how to get windows ac 97' realteck codecs for linux plz help

Postby jb14813 on Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:38 pm

i cant figure out how to get the right codacs to run my programs like ventrilo when i connect it says

unable to initialize outbound codec (GSM 6.10 - 11 KHz, 16 bit): Unable to find the specified codec
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby sonicbhoc on Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:51 pm

You should use adept and search for these things. I typed in GSM and some things stood out to me.

Try installing gsm-utils, gstreamer0.8-gsm libgsm1 and libgsm1-dev.
sonicbhoc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:47 pm

Postby jb14813 on Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:53 pm

and i try that and i get nothing not one result
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby sonicbhoc on Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:59 pm

your sources.lst must be broken. Either that, or you need some new glasses.

Too bad I don't know how to fix a broken sources.lst file. see if you can use apt-get to install them.

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install gsm-utils gstreamer0.8-gsm libgsm1 libgsm1-dev


EDIT: oops, forgot sudo. This command won't work without sudo.
Last edited by sonicbhoc on Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sonicbhoc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:47 pm

Postby jb14813 on Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:07 pm

well how do i update the lst
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby sonicbhoc on Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:08 pm

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
sonicbhoc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:47 pm

Postby jb14813 on Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:36 am

i installed them with the code above and it said they are all up to date but i still have the problem
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby Husse on Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:26 am

Can you post the content of
Code: Select all
/etc/apt/sources.lst
so we can see if you need to add some repository
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby jb14813 on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:04 pm

no such file or directory
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby sonicbhoc on Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:18 pm

jb14813 wrote:no such file or directory


try posting /etc/apt/sources.list
sonicbhoc
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:47 pm

Postby frank392 on Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:49 pm

@ sonicbhoc,
he is going to get a error message if he dose that.

@ jb14813

type this and copy and paste the results.

gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
frank392
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:29 pm

Postby jb14813 on Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:52 pm

getit not installed
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby linuxviolin on Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:53 pm

getit? No gedit...
K.I.S.S. ===> "Keep It Simple, Stupid"
"Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication." (Leonardo da Vinci)
"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but no simpler." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
linuxviolin
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2055
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 6:55 pm
Location: France

Postby jb14813 on Fri Aug 31, 2007 11:55 pm

yeah i have the kde version if that makes a diff
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Postby Husse on Sat Sep 01, 2007 6:37 am

In KDE it's kate
and
please try to find something out by yourself
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby jb14813 on Sat Sep 01, 2007 7:21 am

ive been trying i am not good with codes i have installed many things sense you first helped me (thank you by the way) because i have copied every code i have recieved and copyed the function i used it for.
User avatar
jb14813
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:14 pm
Location: Wellsville N.Y

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests