Hosting Help

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Hosting Help

Postby 900i on Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:18 pm

Hi folks, have just got myself some paid hosting, but having problems reaching my domain control panel/web space either by FTP or web browser. Hosting guy says he can reach it no problem and has uploaded an index.html page but I can't resolve the address. Can a few of you see if you can resolve http://900i.me.uk and let me know the results please.

Many Thanks

:)
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby scorp123 on Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:43 pm

Firefox can't find the server at 900i.me.uk.

Code: Select all
 nslookup www.me.uk
Server:         192.168.1.1
Address:        192.168.1.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   www.me.uk
Address: 81.187.81.81

Code: Select all
 nslookup 900i.me.uk
Server:         192.168.1.1
Address:        192.168.1.1#53

** server can't find 900i.me.uk: SERVFAIL

Code: Select all
 whois 81.187.81.81
% This is the RIPE Whois query server #1.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
%
% Note: the default output of the RIPE Whois server
% is changed. Your tools may need to be adjusted. See
% http://www.ripe.net/db/news/abuse-proposal-20050331.html
% for more details.
%
% Rights restricted by copyright.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html

% Note: This output has been filtered.
%       To receive output for a database update, use the "-B" flag.

% Information related to '81.187.81.0 - 81.187.81.255'

inetnum:        81.187.81.0 - 81.187.81.255
country:        GB
netname:        ANDREWS-AND-ARNOLD-LTD
descr:          AA Services at redbus
admin-c:        UKAA10854-RIPE
tech-c:         UKAA10854-RIPE
mnt-by:         AA
remarks:        ISP abuse policy at http://aaisp.net.uk/abuse.html
remarks:        INFRA-AW
status:         ASSIGNED PA
source:         RIPE # Filtered

person:         Andrews Arnold Ltd
address:        c/o Andrews & Arnold Ltd, BRACKNELL, RG12 1BR
phone:          +44 7070 100007
e-mail:         854.d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e@ripe.aaisp.net.uk
nic-hdl:        UKAA10854-RIPE
mnt-by:         AA
source:         RIPE # Filtered

% Information related to '81.187.0.0/16AS20712'

route:        81.187.0.0/16
descr:        AAISP
origin:       AS20712
mnt-by:       AA
source:       RIPE # Filtered


Looks like the server of your hoster is around, but they got the DNS resolution for your page screwed up.

Same with traceroute:
Code: Select all
 traceroute 900i.me.uk
traceroute: unknown host 900i.me.uk

Code: Select all
traceroute www.me.uk
... (cut!) ...
 9  ge3-0.pr1.lhr1.uk.above.net (195.66.224.76)  44.249 ms  45.046 ms  40.811 ms
10  64.125.28.37.available.above.net (64.125.28.37)  42.038 ms  41.085 ms  43.325 ms
11  abovenet.aimless.aaisp.net.uk (213.161.69.150)  42.014 ms  41.584 ms  41.841 ms
12  a.limitless.aaisp.net.uk (81.187.81.81)  36.709 ms  36.872 ms  36.929 ms
User avatar
scorp123
Level 8
Level 8
 
Posts: 2287
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Switzerland

Postby kenetics on Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:59 pm

900i

Under Construction


It shows up now, didn't a few minutes ago.
User avatar
kenetics
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on a Florida beach

Postby kenetics on Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:10 pm

BTW, I installed NVU yesterday through the Synaptic package manager. Not as quite as fancy as Dreamweaver, but it looks very good for designing web sites. It is wysiwyg, and sooo much cheaper than DW (its free!).
User avatar
kenetics
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2006 9:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on a Florida beach

yes

Postby Psycho on Tue Jan 09, 2007 7:14 pm


900i

Under Construction




seems to work
Apple is for working, Linux is for networking and Windows is for Solitaire.
User avatar
Psycho
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 1:25 pm

Postby 900i on Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:51 am

Well I've just tried from my work rig using Firefox on XP and I can see the page. Will have to try from Linux when I get home. Thanks for your help guys.

Kinetics, yes I use NVU too!

:D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby AlsaPhil on Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:08 am

900i

Under Construction
Image
User avatar
AlsaPhil
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 9:32 am
Location: Tunis, Tunisia

Postby clem on Wed Jan 10, 2007 6:49 am

Kenetics: I love that software. I use it all the time.

Clem
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5553
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

Postby 900i on Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:51 pm

Thanks alot Scorp, I forwarded the results you posted to my Hoster and he was able to sort it out. I can now ftp into my webspace and get onto the control panel. Thanks again. :D
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby JohnH on Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:56 am

Hi fellas,

I used NVU to set up my wrk web site. Works well, BUT it didn't render properly on a couple of the pages in IE6. I notice that in IE7 that the pages render better. Does that mean that M$ have finally accommodated international code standards?

Regards
John
User avatar
JohnH
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 4:15 am
Location: Caboolture, Oz

Postby Alephcat on Fri Jan 12, 2007 5:19 am

not totally, but they did move a little way towards them
User avatar
Alephcat
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:13 am
Location: Chester

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests