Azureus

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

Azureus

Postby tonyhealy on Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:27 am

Have installed Daryna without any hitches.
Used the package manager to install Azureus.An entry appears in the
internet menu but just disappears on clicking on it!
Is this a bug?
I had no problems using Azureus in Mint 3.1
Help
User avatar
tonyhealy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 2:20 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:41 am

Please post in the appropriate forum. Topic moved
You mean that the menu entry for Azerus disappears when you click it?
Can you open Azerus from the terminal?
Probably just to give the command Azerus
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Azureus

Postby tonyhealy on Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:12 am

No the menu entry for Azureus does not disappear.The Azureus main
window appears for 2 sec then is gone!
If opened in a terminal same as before with an error message in the terminal
" An unexpected error has been detected by Java Runtime Environment:
#
# Internal Error (53484152454432554E54494D450E4350500214), pid=28776, tid=3084417936"
User avatar
tonyhealy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 2:20 pm

Postby pashabear on Sat Nov 17, 2007 3:07 pm

I have the same problem. I got the error tonyhealy mentioned, so tried installing the j2re1.4 package and now I get the following:
Code: Select all
changeLocale: *Default Language* != English (United States). Searching without country..
changeLocale: Searching for language English in *any* country..
changeLocale: no message properties for Locale 'English (United States)' (en_US), using 'English (default)'
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: org/eclipse/swt/widgets/Display (Unsupported major.minor version 49.0)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:539)
        at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:123)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:251)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(URLClassLoader.java:55)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:194)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:187)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:289)
        at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:274)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:235)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(ClassLoader.java:302)
        at org.gudy.azureus2.ui.swt.Main.<init>(Main.java:147)
        at org.gudy.azureus2.ui.swt.Main.main(Main.java:162)


Thanks in advance for your help...
pb
User avatar
pashabear
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 11:59 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Postby Husse on Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:19 pm

I think it could be the wrong version of java, but I think that the right version is there.
Azuerus probably wants 1.5 and installed is 1.4.2 but sun-java6-jre which is also installed provides for 1.5
but this may also be nonsense....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby gollum1971 on Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:40 pm

I had that problem, just un-installed and re-installed,

No problem anymore

Hope this helps

Aiden
gollum1971
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:26 pm
Location: Ormskirk, England

Azureus

Postby tonyhealy on Sun Nov 18, 2007 2:34 am

I have solved my problem using a little lateral thinking!
Uninstall Azureus and install Qbittorrent.:-
Please add the following lines to your /etc/apt/sources.list if you are using Ubuntu Gutsy (v7.10 - stable)
deb http://hydr0g3n.free.fr/qbittorrent/gutsy/ ./
deb-src http://hydr0g3n.free.fr/qbittorrent/gutsy/ ./
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install qbittorrent
Brilliant
User avatar
tonyhealy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 2:20 pm

Postby Husse on Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:21 am

@ tonyhealy
After I posted here I found a post about java and Azuerus that clearly indicated that Azuerus is a "problem child"
so using something else is right....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Postby joel_gil on Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:35 am

ok so, looking around the ubuntu forums i found the solution

sudo wget http://superb-west.dl.sourceforge.net/s ... .5.0.0.jar

then
sudo mv Azureus2.5.0.0.jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar

thats it, 2 simple steps...

as a final comment, i noticed many of the "solutions" were to use another program. Come on guys, is a team work to solve problems, if u start givin up on simple things like this, the mint community wont go very far.

animo ;)
joel_gil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:38 pm

Re:

Postby BakUp on Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:44 am

joel_gil wrote:sudo wget http://superb-west.dl.sourceforge.net/s ... .5.0.0.jar

then
sudo mv Azureus2.5.0.0.jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar

thats it, 2 simple steps...


These 2 simple steps do not work for me, anyone else have problems besides me ?
User avatar
BakUp
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Re: Azureus

Postby salai on Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:07 pm

Why install obsolete non-functional (2.5.0.0) Azureus from mintInstall and then manually copy over it some other obsolete version (which cannot even update itself), when one can get new 3.0.3.4 Azureus from http://azureus.sourceforge.net/ ?
salai
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2007 10:05 pm
Location: Not here

Re: Azureus

Postby BakUp on Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:50 pm

salai wrote:Why install obsolete non-functional (2.5.0.0) Azureus from mintInstall and then manually copy over it some other obsolete version (which cannot even update itself), when one can get new 3.0.3.4 Azureus from http://azureus.sourceforge.net/ ?


Ok, I will indeed try that one....thanks
User avatar
BakUp
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 9:20 am
Location: Minnesota USA

Postby joel_gil on Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:12 am

BakUp wrote:
joel_gil wrote:sudo wget http://superb-west.dl.sourceforge.net/s ... .5.0.0.jar

then
sudo mv Azureus2.5.0.0.jar /usr/share/java/Azureus2.jar

thats it, 2 simple steps...


These 2 simple steps do not work for me, anyone else have problems besides me ?


BakUp maybe u just capied pasted what i wrote, my mistake, follow the full directions, that is

sudo wget <http://superb-west.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/azureus/Azureus2.5.0.0.jar>

whitouth the "<" ">", for some reason the forum edited it to shorten the link, hope it works this way
good luck

EDIT*
ok so just two things, the solution im posting is for the people who installed through package manager.

but as they said above, it is truly as easy to download and isntall the newest bersion, plus is better.
i followed this instructions http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=144546
i hope it helps people =)
joel_gil
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:38 pm

Re: Azureus

Postby Kynan on Wed Nov 21, 2007 11:28 am

salai wrote:Why install obsolete non-functional (2.5.0.0) Azureus from mintInstall and then manually copy over it some other obsolete version (which cannot even update itself), when one can get new 3.0.3.4 Azureus from http://azureus.sourceforge.net/ ?

Agreed tho i hope they do away with the vuze stuff its pretty useless. But i do like the star rating system and the comments which help in determining if things are fake :)
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Re: Azureus

Postby Husse on Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:02 am

A) I have notified the team about "obsolete"
B) In the new forum right click links and select "copy link location"
C) Someone said
i noticed many of the "solutions" were to use another program. Come on guys, is a team work to solve problems

Indeed, but it takes time to find a solution and if you find that another application does the job you've solved the problem with less effort
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19703
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Azureus

Postby Kynan on Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:19 am

This is the exact sort of thing i think needs a bit of work. We need to improve the software portal, not vastly, but with a little bit of effort it can be much better/useful.
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=6888
User avatar
Kynan
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 7:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests