I seem to have unistalled Firefox...

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help

I seem to have unistalled Firefox...

Postby Marle on Fri Jan 26, 2007 11:31 pm

Hello, I'm new to Linux Mint (though I've used Ubuntu before) and it seems great except for one wierd problem: Firefox is missing. When I click on the icon, it says .Could not launch menu item Failed to execute child process "firefox" (No such file or directory)". So I check /usr/bin (where I usually found applications in Ubuntu) and sure enough, it's not there (neither is mozilla-firefox). So i go to Synaptic and reinstall. Still doesn't work. It worked when I first installed Linux Mint. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to get it back? I have Opera installed now, so it's not the end of the world if I don't, but I'd really prefer to use Firefox so any suggestions would be wonderful.
Marle
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Postby skampo on Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:08 am

Firefox in /usr/bin would just be a link to where it should be which is /usr/lib/firefox/ I found this out back when I was told to remove the older firefox before updating to 2.0.0.1. I updated from source and then found I had installed to my home folder. What I did then was launch thunar as super user and just moved the firefox folder from home to /usr/lib/firefox and made a new launcher to it.
skampo
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Marle on Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:34 am