A little problem

Questions about other topics - please check if your question fits better in another category before posting here
Forum rules
Before you post please read this

A little problem

Postby neuro on Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:38 pm

Greetings, my first try with Linux Mint and my first post here.. :)
Anyone knows "root" default password for Linux Mint? I've been installed it on VMWare and I need root pass to install VMWare tools...

Thx a lot! :)
neuro
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:34 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Postby Wickermann on Wed Nov 22, 2006 1:46 pm

Did you try with leaving the Password for "root" just free ?
Or..create a new passowrd for root. This can be done under System->Administration--> User and groups.
Wickermann
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 10:59 am

Postby 900i on Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:39 pm

The root account is disabled by default in this distro, like Ubuntu. The password is the one you setup when you made your user account.
Intel i7 3770 LMDE Mate 64
User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Postby sanford42 on Wed Nov 22, 2006 5:43 pm

instead of giving a user account root priveleges through "su", you just type:
Code: Select all
sudo *command*
and it will prompt you for your password.

it took me a while to get used to it, but now that i have, i like it better than su.
User avatar
sanford42
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 5:35 pm
Location: Dallas, TX

Postby clem on Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:20 pm

Well.. there is a root account, and it's not disabled. The password for it is simply unknown.. (I can't remember if it's random, or simply some hardcoded gibberish stuff defined in the casper-bottom scripts).. but anyway.

Your default account can run anything as root by typing "sudo" in front of the command, so you can perfectly give root a new password... all you have to do is :

sudo passwd root

Et voila.
User avatar
clem
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5552
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:34 am

sudo -s ?

Postby Quicksilver 689 on Fri Nov 24, 2006 5:11 pm

I could be mistaken here, but I could have sworn that at some point I was able to do "sudo -s", which kept me at the root prompt afterwards, thereby effectively switching me to root.

Anyone able to confirm/deny this?
User avatar
Quicksilver 689
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 2:12 pm

Postby whistlerspa on Fri Nov 24, 2006 11:10 pm

I use sudo su - that works after you put in your password
whistlerspa
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:37 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Other topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests