Hello from Austria!

Welcome to newcomers! Don't hesitate to introduce yourself.
Forum rules
Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
AgentWhite

Hello from Austria!

Post by AgentWhite »

Hi and greetings from Austria 8)

A few words about me:
I'm a computer sciences student (and Unix fan) who also works part-time for a Company as applications developer. In my work environment I only use Windows with Microsofts SQL and Visual Studio. But for my work at the University I rather like working with Linux. :D

...and here's my story how I came to Linux:
I was a long time Windows user/developer (yeah, at least I'm honest :wink: ) but also a big Unix/Linux fan. I started using Knoppix many years ago as a Rescue CD for the worst case. A few years ago I started using OpenSuse on my old Dell Inspiron 6400, cause I wanted to get into sth new and I was always curious about Linux and like to try new things. :D

I was very happy with OpenSuse. One time I decided to try Ubuntu, by the time it was Version 10.04 and I was, again, amazed. After a few months the Update to Version 11 was there and I tried that and Unity came...aaaaannd it was deleted faster than it installed :lol:
I didn't heard about Unity before I installed Version 11 and I was shocked. I turned my back on Linux for a little while. Time went by and I started to study Computer Sciences at my University. I realized that I didn't wanted to work with Windows (I was working on Windows with Microsofts SQL and Visual Studio all the time at work) and my University was all about Open Source. So I started to dig out my old Laptop and installed - again - OpenSuse. I realized that KDE got the Plasma Desktop, which looked cool, but I thought of it a bit unwieldy. :?